Thrive Market Reviews

Thrive Market
Based on  251 Reviews
About Thrive Market
Thrive Market is an online retailer specializing in healthy and organic foods.  Similar to brick and mortar shopping clubs a membership to Thrive gets you access to discounts on carefully selected items.
 
The company was founded on the principle that eating healthy quality foods should not be difficult or expensive.  With the online marketplace they solve both issues by making the shopping experience convenient, and using the buying power of many to drive down costs.
 
When it comes to product selection Thrive focuses on partnering with the top brands serving a variety of health food niches.  Instead of overwhelming you with food options they hand pick the top products and focus on getting you the best price for them.

How Does it Work?

You can register for free and start browsing their selections.  First time shoppers get 15% off their first purchase.  When you do make your first purchase your free thirty day trial of the Thrive Marketplace will go into effect.
 
Once the trial is up you will be charged $59.95 annually for your continued use of the service.  This comes out to around $5 a month which they claim is offset by your average savings of 35% of retail costs.
 
All together they feature over 400 brands with 2,500+ premium foods, supplements, home, personal care, and beauty products.  You can easily narrow your search to feature products based on your dietary needs.  For instance you can sort by Paleo, Gluten Free, Raw, or Vegan.  You can also use over 90+ product filters for more specific needs like allergy restrictions, organic/gmo, and various other product standards.

Customer Service:

If you have any questions or would like to cancel your membership you can do so at any time by speaking to a customer representative.  They can be reached via their contact page at www.thrivemarket.com/faq?contactus, or by phone at (866) 419-2174.

Online Reviews/Complaints:

The website is still in Beta and customer reviews are slowly starting to come in.  Thrive does have the support of some popular Paleo bloggers such as Mark Sisson from Primal Blueprint.  They also have a growing fanbase on social media with over 4k facebook followers.

Competitors and Alternatives:

Specialty health food providers have embraced the internet as a great way to get their products out directly to the consumers.  You can find almost anything that you need for any diet online.  However using one dedicated online retailer gives you access to better savings and the convenience of one source; some other online Paleo retailers include Julian Bakery, Organic Prairie, and Vital Choice.

Coupons/Discounts:

Currently Thrive is offering first time shoppers 25% off their first purchase and free shipping on orders over $49.  Start your free trial today at Thrive Market.
 
If you are a member of Thrive Market or have checked out the free trial please review and rate your experience below.
 
251 ‘Thrive Market’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
Aug
13
2016
tom
jones
sketchy membership fees

I bought from this site without realizing they have some membership scam running. They sign you up with some free trial period B.S. that isn't clearly stated in their communications. Then they charge you a membership fee on the day that the "free trial" is up. Complete scam by garbage people.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 12 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Pythagorean Theorem
September 03, 2016

In the checkout screen when you make your first purchase it clearly states on the sidebar that you'll get a 30 day free membership and after that be charged 59.99 per year.

Aug
13
2016
Jackie
IL
FRAUD

How in the hell do they get away with it? Someone needs to STOP this company. If I had the resources to take legal action against them I would to ive them have a taste of their own medicine. They have to be making MILLIONS off of this scam. If anyone with legal/financial resources can shut this shit down. PLEASE PLEASE stop them. This is a disgrace!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 11 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
Shirely
August 18, 2016

Thank goodness for this websight so we can check on these companies before we order from them.
How do they get away with this?...

The old saying..be careful..you get what you pay for !! I've seen this kind of rip off more than once and am amazed so many people trust these internet robbers. Check things out people Not everyone these days is honest.

Anna
August 22, 2016

I was taken back by the initial free trial and was upset when money was taken out of my account, however, I called I was friendly, I did my homework and researched 'HOW it WORKS' category where everything is clearly stated. Your membership helps give a family in need a whole membership of thier own. You are helping a community of health advocates and giving a lending hand to those in need. So far three purchases and awesome products. I plan to work for them one day because the small company may need innnmprovement but they stand for something bigger.

Catherine
September 06, 2016

I was charged for products I never received. How does that help our community of health advocates? Rip off artists and con men...

Aug
12
2016
Linisbel Albizar
Florida
TERRIBLE

I was browsing on Pinterest when I saw a good deal of a free bag of Chia seeds and all you had to pay was shipping ($2) I then realized that I had been enrolled in a free trial which ended in 30 days. I cancelled my trail the same day I made the account. They sent me a few emails which I replied to please cancel it as soon as possible. I check my bank account two days later and I'm missing $59!! The free trial was supposed to be 30 days and they didn't even tell me they were taking my money. I'm definitely calling customer service and try to get my money back. DONT SHOP FROM HERE ITS A SCAM

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 9 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Melina
August 13, 2016

I just realized the same thing. I've emailed them to try and get my money back. I didn't even realize we got a free trial. I just wanted to see how their shipping and customer service worked. Now I know. They stole my money!

Aug
9
2016
Susan
Sketchy free trial

I saw Thrive Market advertising a free jar of almond butter plus $2 shipping, to which I was completely down for, so I signed up for the trial membership. After the product shipped, I began to look for how to cancel the trial. What's weird is that unlike other shopping sites where you can click on a button and be immediately unsubscribed, Thrive Market requires you to notify them and wait for an email.

It took me 3 emails before I was unsubscribed. Customer service came up with new offers every time. No, I said, I'm not interested in an extended trial. (All I wanted was to take advantage of the cheap almond butter.)

Just keep sending them emails and say no. Otherwise they'll take advantage of your silence.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 7 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Aug
8
2016
Diane
Las Vegas
Disappointing Rip-Off Tactics

Some prices were better than I found other places, others were not, and they had a limited selection of the products I buy. Vitacost has a much better selection for me. However, the main reason I am hating this company is their obviously sneaky tactics to get you on board for a free month trial period to try it out and end up not allowing you to cancel. It's REALLY frustrating.

First of all you have to diligently get through a number of different screens to cancel. I made sure I did that several days before my membership was to expire because I was about to leave town and would not have computer access for 2 weeks. When I got back home I saw an email from Thrive 2 days after I cancelled online stating I still needed to reply to that email in time in order to cancel and if I did not I would be automatically enrolled in a 6-month membership instead of the year. I tried calling them but it didn't even ring - was answered with a recording apologizing Thrive could not answer my call and cut me off without even allowing me to leave a message.

So, I replied to the email stating I had already cancelled online (and had already declined that offer online) and was not informed I would still need to reply to their email to complete the cancelation. I asked them to completely cancel my membership and refund my credit card. Eventually I got a reply back from them apologizing for the trouble and again offering me the 6-mo. membership. Again, I replied and clearly asked them to completely cancel my membership, refund my card and send me a confirmation. That was the last I heard from them and the charge it still on my card 3 weeks later. They are still not answering calls. Not so much about the money - $30 - for 6 mos. - but more about the unethical and aggravating tactics they use that will continue to make lots of enemies for them instead of fans.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 9 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Aug
8
2016
Natasha
New york
Free sample delivered nowhere

Free sample was delivered to the address that has nothing to do with my mailing address, when requested a membership cancellation by email, got a reply with reduced rate that "was already applied to your account" instead of cancelling!! Waiting to get the shipping money back from the company. Very unhappy.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Aug
6
2016
John Knapp
Vancouver, Washington
Ripoff Artists

Offer "free membership". DO NOT FALL FOR THIS SLEAZY TACTIC! They charge you 60 bucks after 30 days, and they don't answer you complaints. I have no idea how to even end the membership.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 7 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Aug
4
2016
Julia
Hawthorne, Ca.
Didn't sign up for membership, still got charged twice.

BEWARE!! I did the same deal when they offered the coconut oil a while back. Paid shipping which was fine. Fast forward to a couple weeks ago. I looked at my cc bill and there was a Thrive Market yearly fee for $59.95. That made me curious, so I looked back and I found another charge for $29.95 in November of last year. I have never purchased anything from Thrive Market! Only "FREE" coconut oil (& shipping). I sent an email using their site & an email using my personal email and I have yet to hear back from anyone. The first email went out 2 weeks ago when I discovered the charges. The 2nd email went out this week. All I want is a refund for the 2 membership related charges for a membership I didn't sign up for.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 7 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
anon
August 29, 2016

same thing happened to me with the coconut oil.

Aug
4
2016
Kelly
West Monroe, LA
Overpriced & Damaged

I wish I could post a photo of the dark chocolate mint creme cups I ordered. I had to pay extra for an ice pack to ship with them, and they arrived a melted, inedible mess. This was my first & last order. It was also an act of congress to get out if the trial membership. I had to submit 3 emails to a pushy salesman that would not take no for an answer. Do not involve yourself with this company.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 6 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Aug
4
2016
Lukasz
Il
Shams!

Don't give them your credit card!! It's worse costumer service! It's supposed to be a free trail and they just took 59$ for a year membership without my permission!!!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 10 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
babybs
August 04, 2016

I agree it is a scam.

John K
August 06, 2016

Sleazy Ripoff!

Aug
4
2016
jenny
west palm beach, FL
Rediculous trying to cancel trial membership

I got 1 order which was fine and you HAVE to sign up for a 30-day trial membership. Upon receiving my order I went to cancel and there is NO WHERE on website or account to cancel. I had to email which I then received a reply trying to talk me out of it, I replied again to cancel to receive ANNOTHER email with a different membership offer but still not cancelling. I replied again with NO RESPONSE now. I called and Matt said he cancelled . I requested email confirmation of that and got nothing. Called again next day for confirmation and got nothing again. REALLY !!! Products may be good BUT CUSTOMER SERVICE is horrible. Put a cancellation link on account page !!!!!!! Now I am so pissed off I will NEVER consider ordering from them again.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 8 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
John K
August 06, 2016

Sleazy ripoff artists.

Aug
3
2016
Erin Sickler
Albany, NY
Limited Inventory/Too much packaging/Charged after canceling account

After signing up for the trial of Thrive Market, I decided it wasn't for me. The inventory is so limited that it wasn't worth the cost; plus I really didn't like all that packaging. I emailed to cancel my account and got an email acknowledging my request and offering me a half price membership. I did not take the offer but was still charged 29.95! I only noticed by reviewing my bank transactions and I bet lots of people let this slip by, not noticing. Very disappointed in this service.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 6 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Aug
1
2016
SB
Berks County, PA
Bad business model, terrible customer service, bad packaging

Terrible experience! Spent way too much time trying to get my money back and cancel my account and unsubscribe from their emails. Wish I had read the reviews before ordering. My package was damaged during shipping and the shipper made the determination to Return To Sender before it ever reached my address. This should have triggered a replacement order being sent out immediately plus an email apologizing for the delay. Instead, Thrive never contacted me and was going to treat it like a customer return, making me wait for them to get the package back and confirm the problem!! There are also problems with their customer service email addresses not accepting emails. Apparently, many others have had the same problem with damaged packages. So they must have a problem with their packaging as well. You'd think that they'd have a proper procedure in place for expediting a replacement for a damaged package, but no, it is treated like a customer returned item. Then there's the problem of "membership fees" -- I asked to cancel the account well before the membership fee was to kick in, but like so many others, I was offered a lower fee and sent emails that did not address my complaints. I clearly declined this offer, and again requested a cancellation AND unsubscription from all emails, but instead, three days later the fee was charged to my (still existing) account. Now, I just spent 40 minutes on the phone with customer service and have finally been assured that my account has been cancelled and my money refunded...... we shall see! I wish I had never placed an order with this company!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 8 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Rosa
August 01, 2016

Same EXCACT experience. Terrible!

Jul
28
2016
Kji
Encinitas, CA
FRUSTRATION VS. LOW PRICES

Quick review on Thrive Market. Terrible website. Less than average customer service...drop the ball a lot. Crummy customer service hours as well. Very good prices. I would NEVER pay full price for their $60 yearly membership. If that is ever required, I'm O-U-T!
If the lower food prices are worth the frustration...Thrive On, as they like to say.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Jul
28
2016
Angry Consumer
East Coast
If THRIVE cared, THRIVE would change

I received an email today telling me that the $1.95 jar of coconut oil I accepted enrolled me in a trial membership that ends in two days. I’ll be charged $59. I have filed a complaint with the BBB for not being upfront. I am trying to call my credit card company to keep the charge from going through.

Obviously, Thrive Markets does not care about the very overwhelming amount of consumer’s complaints on this matter, or they would have changed how they conduct business in this regard. I mean, the complaints are all the same and are all over the internet.

To anyone who knows any little thing about marketing and maintaining a customer base, this is clearly an area that needs an immediate overhaul.

If you have not purchased from them yet, learn from all of us who have. A purchase = a yearly membership fee with no easy way to end membership unless you feel a sale person calling you at their leisure and asking you to continue the free membership or accept a reduced fee to continue is "easy."

Easy in today's world is a click of a button.

Many well known and very reputable companies, like Amazon, make it that easy, but not Thrive.

I will never purchase another thing from Thrive, and I will tell everyone who will listen using every form of social media I can to warn others to steer clear. If Thrive wanted to grow as a business, they would listen to the complaints and evolve their business to meet customer demand.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 12 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Alexandria
August 01, 2016

I've been trying to reach them forever. I wish I read your review before I signed up!

babybs
August 04, 2016

I just saw the charge on my account. Never knew this was associated with the trial purchase I made. What a scam of a company. Now I have to fight like everyone else to try and get my money back! Run from this company!

Jul
23
2016
trai
Fort Wayne, IN
Their idea of customer service will make you regret it.

This site is like if Fresh Market were a warehouse club that delivers. Pricey. Yet tempting, maybe, if you're not close to anything like that.

It offers a tempting "free trial," as well. Sign up and get a super deal (mine was organic almond butter for $2 delivered). Cancel within three months and no membership fee is charged.

The site doesn't allow one to cancel, however. Instead, the cancel button gets you a message informing you that you will be contacted by customer service within 24 hours.

At which point, I'm annoyed by the unnecessary complication and a bit weary of the questionable business ethics implied by it.

Turns out, I had good reason to be. The message from "Darbrielle (Member Services)" was the pitch for reduced services at a reduced rate that I was expecting at this point, so I politely thanked her, declined, and asked to be "immediately" canceled.

Astonishingly, that still did not happen. Instead, I received a second email reiterating the previous offer, or otherwise demanding what is, by now, my *third* cancellation request.

It took me a couple of days to draft a response which did not include profanity. The terse reply finally relented, adding that, "If you do decide to shop with us again, please note that the nonrefundable membership fee will be charged the day after you place your order." Yeah. That's not gonna happen.

I can't even imagine what hoops these folks might have in store for someone with billing or delivery mistakes, but I urge you to never find out.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 16 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Jul
23
2016
Tailor
Kansas city
THE WORST!

Horrible!! It just proves how bad this company is with all of these negative reviews. I am surprised they are still a company. My situation was one just like the rest, I actually had a free offer for a jar of organic coconut oil. Paid 2.75 for shipping, COMPLETELY missed where it states they will charge me 59.97 for membership fee, transparent my butt... Called customer service, they gave me a refund after going through the whole process of offering me 29.95 for a whole year... BAD BAD BAD. Stay away, dishonest company and its sad because there needs to be more affordable retailers for healthy foods and products.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 12 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Carla
July 26, 2016

How did you receive a response on the phone? I have been calling and calling and a voice recording has answered me each time (keep in mind, I'm calling at nine, their lines open at eight.)
I can't even wait for a representative to answer me, it just drops the call after one minute.

Jul
21
2016
Mary
Boston MA
Please File a complaint with CA Attorney General

https://oag.ca.gov/contact/consumer-complaint-against-business-or-company

This is still going on - here are excerpts of my three attempts to avoid a $59.95 membership fee. I finally had to file a complaint with the California AG's office to get it in writing that my membership has been cancelled. I also called my credit card company to have Thrive Market blocked and of course will check each credit card statement carefully.

https://thrivemarket.com/how-it-works
2. Start your trial
With your first purchase on Thrive, you’ll start a free 30-day membership trial. See how much you save. Cancel any time.

Attempt #1 to cancel an automatic renewal of membership
July 18 – I submitted a request via the website to cancel my membership
July 18 – received this response from Thrive Market (excerpt)
I’d be happy to extend your free trial for an additional month if you would like more time to see all the exciting new products and deals that we have in store. This change is already reflected on your account.
However, if you’d prefer not to take advantage of this offer, please reply to this email.

Attempt #2 to cancel an automatic renewal of membership
July 19 – I email again confirming that I do not want an additional month and that my decision is to cancel the membership.
July 20 – I receive this email from Thrive Market (excerpt)
Before you go, we’d like to make you just one more very special offer: the price of $29.95 for the ENTIRE YEAR as an alternative. This discounted membership will allow you the same access to savings at half the price. This change is already reflected on your account.
However, if you’d prefer not to take advantage of this offer and discontinue your membership, please reply to this email and I will make that adjustment right away.

Attempt #3 to cancel an automatic renewal of membership
July 20 – I email the following:
If Thrive Market does not immediately confirm in writing that my membership is cancelled I will file a formal complaint with my state Attorney General's Office. My previous requests have not been honored, and Thrive is not following its own policy that states I can cancel anytime. Instead I am instructed again to please reply if I really want to cancel.
Enough!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 20 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Jul
17
2016
Yadi Jaquex
San Jose
Scam artists

Charged me 59.99 and now I am negative 16 in my bank account!!! Did not know there would be a membership charge for solely purchasing some damn tea a month ago!! Called and couldn't get a representative on the line. I'm livid.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 15 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Jul
17
2016
Sarah Talmi
Florida
Another Fraudulent Thieves company

DO NOT GIVE THEM YOUR CREDIT CARD INFO.
PERIOD.

Placed an order,
it never shipped for the longest time.
Canceled it.
A month later i get charged a $59.95 membership fee.
Who wants to be a member?
I didn't even want your order in the first place?
Charging $59.95 for not using your false services?

Another small letters spammer company.
BEWARE!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 10 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Leave a Review
* Indicates Required Field
 
Popular Articles
Related Reviews
No reviews yet 
No reviews yet 
BY: Gina 
BY: Elizabeth O