Thrive Market Reviews

Thrive Market
Based on  251 Reviews
About Thrive Market
Thrive Market is an online retailer specializing in healthy and organic foods.  Similar to brick and mortar shopping clubs a membership to Thrive gets you access to discounts on carefully selected items.
 
The company was founded on the principle that eating healthy quality foods should not be difficult or expensive.  With the online marketplace they solve both issues by making the shopping experience convenient, and using the buying power of many to drive down costs.
 
When it comes to product selection Thrive focuses on partnering with the top brands serving a variety of health food niches.  Instead of overwhelming you with food options they hand pick the top products and focus on getting you the best price for them.

How Does it Work?

You can register for free and start browsing their selections.  First time shoppers get 15% off their first purchase.  When you do make your first purchase your free thirty day trial of the Thrive Marketplace will go into effect.
 
Once the trial is up you will be charged $59.95 annually for your continued use of the service.  This comes out to around $5 a month which they claim is offset by your average savings of 35% of retail costs.
 
All together they feature over 400 brands with 2,500+ premium foods, supplements, home, personal care, and beauty products.  You can easily narrow your search to feature products based on your dietary needs.  For instance you can sort by Paleo, Gluten Free, Raw, or Vegan.  You can also use over 90+ product filters for more specific needs like allergy restrictions, organic/gmo, and various other product standards.

Customer Service:

If you have any questions or would like to cancel your membership you can do so at any time by speaking to a customer representative.  They can be reached via their contact page at www.thrivemarket.com/faq?contactus, or by phone at (866) 419-2174.

Online Reviews/Complaints:

The website is still in Beta and customer reviews are slowly starting to come in.  Thrive does have the support of some popular Paleo bloggers such as Mark Sisson from Primal Blueprint.  They also have a growing fanbase on social media with over 4k facebook followers.

Competitors and Alternatives:

Specialty health food providers have embraced the internet as a great way to get their products out directly to the consumers.  You can find almost anything that you need for any diet online.  However using one dedicated online retailer gives you access to better savings and the convenience of one source; some other online Paleo retailers include Julian Bakery, Organic Prairie, and Vital Choice.

Coupons/Discounts:

Currently Thrive is offering first time shoppers 25% off their first purchase and free shipping on orders over $49.  Start your free trial today at Thrive Market.
 
If you are a member of Thrive Market or have checked out the free trial please review and rate your experience below.
 
251 ‘Thrive Market’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
Apr
26
2015
Kristi Anglen
USA
Prices Good Limited Options

I did a free trial of Thrive and ordered twice. The first order I had to choose a different brand of almond butter than I normally buy since they only carried one brand- and it wasn't mine. The taste was ok, but I still like my regular brand better. The prices are good except for the fact that after your free trial you'll have to pay the membership fee to keep getting the good prices. In contrast, there are quite a few online retailers that offer free shipping and/or bulk discounts with no membership costs so I think it equals out.

My second order contained two different types of organic coconut oil. One of the brands is great. The other brand was rancid when I opened it. Tan coloration, didn't smell like fresh coconut oil should. I also ordered a gluten free seaweed snack thinking because I liked the seaweed noodles I would enjoy the snack. Nope. Tasted horrible even though all the reviews raved about it. Maybe it's just me, but I won't be buying those again.

Thrive does have good prices, but again they have a limited variety of brands. I can shop Vitacost, Amazon or my local health food store and find a much better variety. If I watch for sales I can even get good prices. I cancelled my Thrive membership- haven't heard from them so I hope they don't give me problems with the cancellation.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 34 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
cherice
May 21, 2015

based on the comments below I would be checking your billing statements. They dont seem to understand the word cancel in any form of language.

Apr
15
2015
Todd Nelson
Minneapolis, MN
Poor communication - deceptive business practices

Unfortunately, my experience with Thrive has not been a good one. I tried the trial and ordered one product. It came as advertised but transit time was a bit long. Since my local grocery delivery company has since added over 300 more paleo type products to their line up, I no longer found the trial useful.

My three attempts to cancel have been met with essential refusals and high pressure sales pitches asking that I stay. Today I received the three day warning message that my account would be charged the membership fee. Again I have submitted my FOURTH attempt to cancel. If I am charged the fee, I will be contacting my State Attorney General’s Office. For such a small company, there seem to be a lot of similar complaints appearing on the Internet, all with the same problem. I would be very wary of this company.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 51 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 5 Comments
Shannon
May 20, 2015

If you got charged and can't get it returned immediately, file a chargeback - submit their policy and your emails demonstrating your attempts to follow it. You'll get your money back, and they'll have a chargeback strike against them. Enough of those, and they can lose their merchant privileges.

cherice
May 21, 2015

Their membership base is most likely made up of 80% unknowing members. As in they were charged for the membership and were never informed properly when they thought they had cancelled.

marj
June 04, 2015

I won't even bother with the free trial after reading all the negative reviews. I especially don't like the high pressure sales pitches and the long waits for delivery. I'll stick with my Amazon membership...they've spoiled me with 2 day delivery :)

chris
July 01, 2015

same here

JimSkyler
November 29, 2015

I am dealing with this nightmare as we speak. I cancelled on Oct 3rd & last night a charge of $59.95 was taken out of my credit card without my authorization. I honestly feel violated & am extremely upset.

Apr
14
2015
Cindy
Washington
Great market!

I found Thrive Market through Nom Nom Paleo and it has been a huge blessing for me!!! As a mom of 3, I don't have the time or money to shop at the closest health food store frequently and they don't have the selection that Thrive Market has. It has beat Prime every single time (though I do wish shipping was faster!) and I saved well over $60 within my first two orders. I received lard that said "natural" instead of "grass fed" like it does on the site so I was disappointed but I reached out to customer service and they got back to me with a response from the brand verifying that it was grass-fed very quickly! I was impressed and can't wait for them to add more paleo stuff!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 17 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
Jacheter
April 19, 2015

This reads like a planted review

cherice
May 21, 2015

Exactly what I was thinking.

cherice
May 21, 2015

I thought I had already responded to this reply. hmmm. Well here goes again, thats exactly what I was thinking. However, if it were a fact, Im sure the response was not based on facts but rather them telling the member what he wanted to hear. I would most certainly research the results. Just a thought.

Apr
10
2015
Tom
Phoenix
LOVE Thrive so far

Thrive has a great paleo selection. I've ordered from them a few times and now have a membership with them. In one of my orders, my jar of coconut oil arrived broken (it was packed really well, so i'm not sure how it happened), and their customer service department was friendly and prompt - issued a full refund with no questions asked!

Not sure why Thrive is getting so much hate on this thread - the membership charge is really clear and I was able to get in touch with them very easily.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 16 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
cherice
May 21, 2015

Good for you. They probably have software that lets them know if a trial member or a yearly member is contacting them. So you have no problem contacting them. However, I bet you would come across some resistance if you wanted to cancel your membership! Try it, I dare you. JK good luck with them though.

Apr
3
2015
Diane
Phoenix, AZ
No way to contact them

I tried the trial membership. When I was unable to contact customer support via chat, email or phone, I decided to cancel my membership. (I also wasn't happy that when something I really liked was back in stock, I was limited to ordering only 2) How the hell do I cancel if I can't contact them. I click on 'Chat', nothing happened. I called, no associates were available. I emailed both hello@thrivemarket.com and help@thrivemarket.com and both were returned as undeliverable. UGH!!!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 33 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
cherice
May 21, 2015

I had a problem getting them on the phone to cancel so I followed their direction of emailing and made an overly clear attempt to cancel. Im not authorizing you to bill my cc or debit on file and so on. I then that day later on received a response and at the bottom it read, i went ahead and changed your membership to a 6 month membership and you will only be charged 29.95. This will process for your convenience unless we here back from you. Then the rest of my afternoon till about 6pm I had back and forth comments via emails with Ryan about what I thought of their deceptive billing policies. His reply to why when I said cancel and he changed the membership and was still going to bill unless he heard back from me was, 1 we dont usualy hear back from members and 2 for the convenience of an easy membership process. It's as if he didn't understand that its deception and the reason people didn't respond to them was because they thought they had canceled and them taking money from people when they aren't even aware is stealing. They're paying for something they won't use because they thought they canceled. But I tell you that they are there to respond to you, they just don't want to. The only reason Ryan responded to my reply email was because I went off on him and the company and probably offended him when I told him he was ignorant for not understanding my cancelation email request. I think he's still trying to get me to respond to him. I just received today another email from customer care asking me to rate them. However it said my full name and them, we would love to hear what you think about our customer care service. Below is your conversations for you to read. Come on, really. I'm sure it's him or a buddy of his. So my experience was very poor with this company and what I had to deal with. I'm looking for contacts to email the entirety of the conversation with Ryan to. He should be held accountable for being such an ass!

Misha (Thrive Market Membership Services)
May 22, 2015

Hi Cherice,
Our director of membership services reached out to you this morning and she's hoping to get in touch to discuss your concerns. Thanks for taking the time to offer your feedback

chris
July 01, 2015

this is why i am no gonna join...finally in my search on...how to cancel i get a site with comments what really happens, rather than a sales pitch site. when they fix this issue, i might give them a trial.

Apr
1
2015
Mary Ann
New York City
Could be better

I placed a large order with this company and when I received it the bag of the popcorn that I ordered was split and the popcorn was all over the bottom of the box. I E-mailed them about it and they never responded-poor customr service. I am back to Amazon.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 22 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Mar
25
2015
Ryan
Rochester, NY
Don't try the trial. Not worth it!

No way to cancel the membership online. They make you email and then give you a hard time about why you want to cancel.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 25 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
joe jim
April 11, 2015

Exactly! I'm am on my 4th email trying to cancel membership. They keep coming back with reduced membership fee, etc. to keep me from proceeding.

marj
June 04, 2015

Thank you for your review. I've no time for the haggling. NO means NO.

Mar
21
2015
Sarah
Austin, TX
I was charged for a membership even though I canceled it

I wanted to try Thrive Market so I could get paleo mayo. So I signed up for their 30-day free trial. Before the free trial expired, I emailed them to cancel my membership.

Three days later I was charged for their membership, which is already over-priced, since they do not offer true co-op prices.

The only way to cancel your membership is to send an email to them. I've sent three emails to them over the last week, requesting my membership to be canceled and a full refund, but I have received NO reply.

Terrible customer service, and unethical business.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 25 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
DaveJ
April 20, 2015

Contact your local State Attorney.

Shannon
May 20, 2015

Also, initiate a chargeback with your card issuer. Include in your complaint their cancellation requirements and copies of your email showing that you met them. You should receive a credit almost immediately.

IN addition, they get a chargeback, with associated fees. Too many chargebacks, and they'll lose their merchant account. It's another way to pressure merchants into doing the right thing.

Mar
21
2015
Lolita Dally
farm Ohio
Unethical practice.

I took the free month-ordered twice and realized that I didn't need a whole lot more of their merchandise for a year-and that I would be spending $59.95 on top of AMazon-which I use for much more than just good foods. SO I sent an email canceling my subscription. They said-here is another month-I said what part of cancel did you not understand? One month later I get a cheerful email that says we processed your membership...I emailed back and said-I canceled-TWICE. It took a week for them to say-well how about a half price membership-I said no CANCEL and refund-still haven't gotten the refund. Unethical.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 24 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
Suzanne
June 16, 2015

Sounds like a lot of people are trying to take advantage of their free trial with intentions of canceling. That too is unethical.

chris
July 01, 2015

it is a free trial offer and should be free to try for anyone for any reason without problems. i am on medical, hardly any income and i wouldda gone for something like a 25 per year membership. still, it would have been nice to try it - that is the chance they take...and i think for families...it really is a great deal, even when you have to pay. the thing is, with all that ethic image they put out...they need to take care not to get a bad rep because of this.

Michael
August 26, 2015

Exactly made an unauthorized charge to my CC of $59.00 no one picks up no one answers emails nothing!!

We should contact the manufactures they do business with and let them know we will boycott their products if the sell to them!!!

Feb
5
2015
Kim Froman
St. Joseph, Missouri
Be careful!

I obviously didn't read the fine print. No head's up, just got a $60 charge for the membership ala Netflix or anything else where if you don't remember to cancel your "membership." I think it is cheesy and I don't do business with those companies. The email I got annoucing that they had already charged my card didn't even have a "contact us" tab. I found this site as search for their site to complain.

Their "before" prices are way jacked up.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 39 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 9 Comments
kay
February 08, 2015

Not their fault, all yours dummy.

Steve
February 15, 2015

Says $60 will be charged pretty clearly on the 1st page I looked at. Not even in fine print.

Glenda Stryker
February 19, 2015

My card was charged when I specifically told them not too via email. They said they didn't see my email before I was charged. I do not like that! I have decided to check it out for another month but now I'm seeing that the prices have jumped way up from the trial period. If I dont see a difference by the end of March, I'm canceling.

Deb
March 30, 2015

This is what I'm afraid of. I have emailed and phoned a couple of times. NO ONE answers either. Cheesy is right. I even asked if this was a legitimate company on a voice message to them.

cherice
May 21, 2015

Ask them if you can do a half mem. And when they respond attack them personally and the company and make it clear once more you want to cancel. I found that worked.

cherice
May 21, 2015

Didn't mean to make it so clear...lol. And Im thinking that the first two respondents most likely work for the rip off company. Very ready to attack and be rude to someone that obviously doesn't want the membership. They should put in the online cancelation policy what a pain in the ass it will be to cancel and that you'll have to be harassed by their customer care assholes!

Cherice
May 21, 2015

I will tell my complaint in the morning. All I can say now is that I am reading a lot of things I wished Id read before I tried their free 30 day trial offer. In fact I am wondering if those that did want their service actually got 13 months of service from them which included the 30 day free trial. I will look into that. I bet its 12 months starting from the day they signed up for the free 30 day trial. Thats how deceptive they are to me.

Betty boop
May 25, 2015

Mother always said" read reviews, complaints, fine lines BEFORE u give any business your bank card number_____change your bank card before they take out fees

McRocks
August 01, 2015

Your mom is indeed a Wise lady, my respects to her. I read reviews even in small appliances. If folks have issues I would not even try.

Jan
9
2015
Sandy
Honolulu, Hawaii
Shipping

Unfortunately Thrive Market does NOT ship to Hawaii and Alaska. Otherwise, it looks like a great site and I hope they are able to ship to Hawaii and Alaska in the future. They seem to have great prices on quality items.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 18 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Cherice
May 22, 2015

I am having problems making my complaint on this page so I will post it here. And let me note that I had made other replies to others complaints and they have seemed to be deleted. I wonder why this site would do that. Maybe they are affiliated in some sort of way with Thrive Market or maybe are being paid? Hmm.

I tried the 30 day free trial shopping experience. Wasnt impressed, the prices were not what they boasted about. But I did order for the fact that I didnt have to go shopping at the store to find what I needed and your first order had 15% off if I remember correctly. Now that I think about it, thats how they get your c/c on file for billing the membership dues. Well after receiving my shipment I was unimpressed by the sizes. One item had two handfuls in the bag. Another was the size of a single size bag. Yes they state the sizes on the website but they dont go into detail like other sites about serving sizes. Anyway, so I am sure that I wont be purchasing from them again and a week or two go by and decide that Id better cancel before they automatically bill me for a years membership. So I call figuring that would be the quickest and easiest way to make sure that they dont charge me. Nope. They tell you to leave a message and theyll call you back. Yeah, okay. On the website it says to email them your request. I do, and very, very clearly tell them that Im not authorizing them in any way to bill my card on file for anything. I give them my reasoning as well. Later that afternoon I received a reply which went on and on about how great the company is, what they do, and the value that can be received. And at the very end of this long email it says, I have updated your account to reflect a 6 month membership rather than a yearly membership for only 29.95 and your membership will be processed appropriately in case that we dont hear back from you. Signed Ryan, Member Services, Thrive Market. Well they did hear back from me and with an angry upset tone. I must of upset poor aggressive money stealing ignorant cant understand the word cancel Ryan. He then emails me again with come backs of what the company does, how great they are, that they automatically change your membership because they often dont hear back from the member after theyve received the cancellation. And that they also do the billing that way for the easy processing of the membership for the members benefit. Of coarse I again email him back about how deceptive that is and how that when someone sends clear emails about cancelling a membership that they assume it is understood and dont bother to read any further communication from that company. In fact most would take themselves off the emailing list. I also point out that the only easy thing they are doing is for them to easily take the non member members money. They thought they cancelled right, why would they take it as anything other than that. Well they know you want to cancel, and they know you wont read follow up emails, and they know you might not notice the fees billed to your card until its to late. Well then another lovely email from the little thief appears in my in box. This time saying that they do it this way to not bring up and uncomfortable talkings of personal finances. To make it easy for the member. Like he's trying to help. And the only reason why I didnt want it was because it was going to be a financial burden on me. LOL! Then I email him back and he emails again and I email one more time telling him that I will be reporting this company to the BBB and will be contacting the higher ups of this company to send them the communication that we had with one another. In his emails he was very rude, condisending, and aggressive in the way they/he does business. I told him Im sure that the owner had better things for him to do rather than email me promptly several times arguing with me thru out the entire afternoon. Im still trying to find another number other than customer service to get ahold of them or even a email would be nice so I can attach a file. Dear Ryan even tried communicating again the following day. I just didnt reply. So to those of you that seem to find it hard to get ahold of them, do what I did, insult them and they'll be more than happy to have an argument with you via email most certainly! I can see from some of the reply comments on here that those individuals most likely work for that company. Because they were outright rude and thoughtless just as Ryan was. I will also tell you that even though he said he cancelled my membership, and even though I changed my card number online to something that doesnt even exist, I will still be checking my billing statement next month to see if there is a charge from Thrive Market. FYI there are plenty of sites that offer the same services a

cherice
May 22, 2015

The ending to that last sentence is, and for FREE!

Leave a Review
* Indicates Required Field
 
Popular Articles
Related Reviews
No reviews yet 
No reviews yet 
BY: Gina 
BY: Elizabeth O