Thrive Market Reviews

Thrive Market
Based on  251 Reviews
About Thrive Market
Thrive Market is an online retailer specializing in healthy and organic foods.  Similar to brick and mortar shopping clubs a membership to Thrive gets you access to discounts on carefully selected items.
 
The company was founded on the principle that eating healthy quality foods should not be difficult or expensive.  With the online marketplace they solve both issues by making the shopping experience convenient, and using the buying power of many to drive down costs.
 
When it comes to product selection Thrive focuses on partnering with the top brands serving a variety of health food niches.  Instead of overwhelming you with food options they hand pick the top products and focus on getting you the best price for them.

How Does it Work?

You can register for free and start browsing their selections.  First time shoppers get 15% off their first purchase.  When you do make your first purchase your free thirty day trial of the Thrive Marketplace will go into effect.
 
Once the trial is up you will be charged $59.95 annually for your continued use of the service.  This comes out to around $5 a month which they claim is offset by your average savings of 35% of retail costs.
 
All together they feature over 400 brands with 2,500+ premium foods, supplements, home, personal care, and beauty products.  You can easily narrow your search to feature products based on your dietary needs.  For instance you can sort by Paleo, Gluten Free, Raw, or Vegan.  You can also use over 90+ product filters for more specific needs like allergy restrictions, organic/gmo, and various other product standards.

Customer Service:

If you have any questions or would like to cancel your membership you can do so at any time by speaking to a customer representative.  They can be reached via their contact page at www.thrivemarket.com/faq?contactus, or by phone at (866) 419-2174.

Online Reviews/Complaints:

The website is still in Beta and customer reviews are slowly starting to come in.  Thrive does have the support of some popular Paleo bloggers such as Mark Sisson from Primal Blueprint.  They also have a growing fanbase on social media with over 4k facebook followers.

Competitors and Alternatives:

Specialty health food providers have embraced the internet as a great way to get their products out directly to the consumers.  You can find almost anything that you need for any diet online.  However using one dedicated online retailer gives you access to better savings and the convenience of one source; some other online Paleo retailers include Julian Bakery, Organic Prairie, and Vital Choice.

Coupons/Discounts:

Currently Thrive is offering first time shoppers 25% off their first purchase and free shipping on orders over $49.  Start your free trial today at Thrive Market.
 
If you are a member of Thrive Market or have checked out the free trial please review and rate your experience below.
 
251 ‘Thrive Market’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
Sep
10
2017
MIDWIFE
PENNSYLVANIA
DO NOT JOIN

ONCE YOU JOIN YOU CANNOT CANCEL. I ORDERED SOME VITAMINS ON A TRIAL MEMBERSHIP AND FOUND OUT YOU HAVE TO JOIN AND I THOUGHT I WOULD SEE HOW I LIKED IT ON THE TRIAL BASIS BUT WHEN I SAW THE COST OF THE MEMBERSHIP I TRIED TO CANCEL RIGHT AWAY. I SPOKE WITH 2 DIFFERENT PEOPLE AND THEY BOTH TOLD ME TO ENJOY THE MEMBERSHIP FOR 2 WEEKS AND THAT I WOULD BE RECEIVING AN EMAIL BEFORE THEY CHARGED MY CREDIT CARD. I RECEIVED THE E MAIL 2 WEEKS AFTER THEY CHRGED MY CREDIT CARD AND I COULD NOT GET THEM TO CANCEL THE MEMBERSHIP THAT I HAD TO WAIT A YEAR AND THEN CALL BACK TO CANCEL. THEY REFUSED TO CANCEL THE MEMBERSHIP AND FOR THE PAST 2 YEARS THEY HAVE CONTINUED TO CHARGE MY CREDIT CARD WITHOUT MY AUTHORIZATION. EVEN THOUGH I HAD THEM BLOCKED THEY STILL KEEP FINDING A WAY TO CHARGE MY CREDIT CARD?

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Aug
30
2017
Kathryn
Mansfield, Ohio
SCAM!

This company is totally corrupt! I make a living designing software and as a data management yet I could not find any way to read their policies before I placed my trial membership order. Nor could I find any way to see if I qualified for their free veteran's membership which was the only way I would agree to be a member. So many of their products have their own label making it impossible to compare prices and values.

However, what set me off was seeing a receipt from PayPal where they automatically charged my PayPal account the $59.95 membership fee! I thought NO ONE could charge my PayPal account without my approving the purchase and that all my bank and credit card information was masked out by PayPay. Yet this company was able to bypass all PayPal's safety nets and charge me for a membership I didn't want!

Their software is otherwise so lame that I can't even print an invoice of anything I've ordered or find links to membership details but it's savvy enough to access my PayPal account without my confirmation?? Unacceptable!

Plus, like other customers have stated, their software doesn't allow you to remove your payment information from your account. What kind of underhanded business tactic is that?

Unlike having a credit card on file with this racket scam business, I can't just close that credit card and be done with them. Once you list PayPal as a method of payment with them they essentially OWN my PayPal account and every form of payment I have with my PayPal account is apparently theirs.

I suppose I was lucky that they answered the phone and agreed to cancel my membership and refund my PayPal account but I don't trust them at all. I will be monitoring this like a hawk and I will be filing complaints with PayPal if I do not see a refund within 3-5 days as promised.

Of course the customer service rep tried every way possible to defend why the company did what it did and even offered to email me a link to their veteran's membership page (which is otherwise OBSCURE) but I refused. I will never do business with this company again even if I qualified for a waived membership fee.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Aug
20
2017
J Herban
fl
Don't sign up scam!!!

Cancelled membership before 30 day trail was up. Second year they have now charged me bank account. Once again am now wasting my time to get money back from them that shouldn't have been taken.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Aug
15
2017
Brian Krall
Rochester NY
SCAM!

I went online to buy some essential oil and bought it from Thrive. Little did I know they would be charging me an extra $60 for a membership there, and didn't even make it clear to me that that was happening during the checkout process! I only found out a year later when I was billed for it again! When I complained they wouldn't refund my membership, but cancelled it for me, then said I could use the money I had paid for my membership towards products on the site. When I went to go do so I found that if I was to complete the transaction I would be billed for another membership! These people are obviously scammers! Buy from someone else its not worth it!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Jul
6
2017
Dale Debomford
San Bernadino
Cheated out of money for membership fees that were not disclosed.

I had $59 stolen from this company, and they have no customer service. Beware of this company they are a complete scam.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
May
9
2017
VIctoria Castro
Help please

Can anyone help me on how to end the memebership because they won't even answer the phone for me to try. They are so unprofessional it makes me sick.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
TEDDY
June 15, 2017

Wow! that is not good.....

Mike
July 06, 2017

Same issue, class action time.

May
3
2017
Trinity
Wilmington, NC
Amazing Customer Service

I made a mistake with my account and called their customer service number in hopes of fixing this mistake. I spoke with Timothy and he was not only incredibly helpful but also incredibly friendly. I have placed two orders with Thrive Market and have been satisfied with both orders. Everything was carefully wrapped, delivered quickly and I was able to get good deals on the products I typically buy at my local grocery store. Thrive Market is convenient, inexpensive, and from my experience truly cares about their customers! Thanks again, Timothy for giving me an excellent experience.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Apr
12
2017
Janet LaBarre
Wrightwood, CA.
easy to cancel trial membership

I was able to find the customer service phone number easily to verify that my trial membership had been cancelled. It is (866)419-2174. I hope this helps those who had difficulty cancelling.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
m. young
July 25, 2017

They still don't answer the phone.

Apr
3
2017
AnnaMarie Lubow
Idaho Falls, Idaho
TERRIBLE customer SERVICE

There is no Cancellation button, you must submit a "ticket" and they take their sweet time returning your email, then they argue with you and then they try to bully you into a 1/2 year membership. Finally, they will grudgingly admit that they will cancel your "trial membership" but wait... there's more.

They charge you anyway!!!

My prediction is they either get bought out by someone like Amazon who understands customer service or they go under with the weight of their membership fee.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 7 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Mar
26
2017
Jay
East Coast
The fee reminds me of a marketing scheme

I saw Thrive on FB and decided to check it out because the prices seemed lower for some things that I do buy online. I didn't put 2 and 2
together that the membership was mandatory to use the market or I didn't see it in the TOA. I wish I had done some research before to get an idea of what it was; and who's invested in it; and any of the other "paleo-celebs" endorsing it.

I do like the idea of giving to someone in need with healthy food, but for 59.95, I can do that myself.

Caveat emptor

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
DAVID IAMS
April 01, 2017

SCAM SCAM SCAM FRAUD AND THEFT.. DO NOT BUY HERE.

Mar
17
2017
Linda
Harrisburg, PA
Bad Company

Took up their offer of one item free just pay shipping. I carefully read all the fine print...no mention of 30 day trial and then $59.95 charge on your credit card. After 25 days they notified me that my 30 day trial would be up and my yearly membership would start in 5 days. They had a click if you didn't want the membership. I clicked and opted out. Today I got an email welcoming me with my new membership. I checked my visa and they changed me for a six month membership fee of $29.95. This is fraud.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Mar
12
2017
Angel
Unethical; Fraudulent charges deducted

I will never deal with this company again!! They stole money from my checking account and are completely impossible to contact. I never signed up for their bogus so called "membership", yet a $60 "membership fee" was deducted from my checking account from Thrive recently. I went to their website and realized that a "yearly account" was set up, which I NEVER did myself. When I tried to remove my checking account information (which I am assuming they placed on my "account" from payment information I used for a one time order of vitamins), their website would not allow me to delete.

They certainly do not make it easy to contact them - their advertisements certainly did lure me in and I was one of the suckers that was led to believe that this was an honest and ethical company to do business with - boy was I wrong.

They have put my into a financial sticky wicket to say the least by deducting this money without my permission - I have now endured countless non-sufficient fund fees because I paid bills with what money I should have had in my account, had Thrive not stolen from me.

I am not holding my breath expecting any contact from them, let alone do I expect that they will reimburse me - I should have done my research better before I purchased product from them - I have read countless stories like mine on line and shame on me.

Beware - do not purchase from this company!

I am now closing my checking account so they can't continue to rob from me.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 10 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Bethany
March 13, 2017

I am in the same boat. They signed me up for a membership and I DID NOT do this. Canceling the membership is like a nightmare. I am still on hold to do so and then I am WARNING EVERYONE!!

Mar
12
2017
dana
Monterey, CA
no review - I am deciding whether to join or not.

Currently, I am an Amazon Prime member. Why am I adding this? Because a friend is trying to get me to join with Thrive. Now, I know that referring a friend to join Thrive will get them 15% off an order (which is fine!), but I had to really look into it because I already pay the yearly Amazon Smiile fee. I have noticed that some things are less expensive with Thrive, but not overwhelming so. Combined with the lack of no customer service, I'm better off paying a nickel more at Amazon.

With Amazon, it's easy to cancel,(I cancelled my Fresh membership). It can be done on line. Also, customer service is amaaaaazzzzzing. If I don't get something delivered, they don't ask questions, and just send another order out. Fast. It's very easy to get Amazon customer service on the phone which makes me feel safe ordering and trusting them to hold my credit card information.

Also know this: Amazon Smile gives back a percentage of each order to the charity or non profit of YOUR choosing. I chose a small charitable organization in my home town.

Thanks for all the feedback and reviews. It's helped me make up my mind.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 6 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Angel
March 12, 2017

beware of Thrive!!! I am happy for you that you decided to stay with Amazon - Thrive is horrible!!!

Mar
11
2017
Olutosin
Nashville, Tennessee
My Experience with Thrive Market is Becoming so Unbearable

I am new to Thrive and it seems like this relationship will end sooner than expected. My last 3 orders never got to me until several weeks after and i had to call in for a reorder several times.
My last order was a very bad and stressful experience. I was made to go pick up my order at my local post office, on getting to the post office, I was told my order was probably sent to another address.

I have been trying so hard to reach Thrive market up until now, the lines are not going through.
I do not think I will continue will Thrive Market just so I can have my peace of mind because I stress so much about this.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Mar
10
2017
Charlee
USA
CHARGE WITHOUT CONSENT AND WONT LET YOU CANCEL

I had Thrive Market for a year but decided to cancel because I can shop on Vitacost for usually the same prices without paying a yearly membership. They make it impossible to cancel. There is no way to cancel on their site. I tried calling and could never get ahold of someone to talk to. I emailed them, but only after having to select that I was contacting them for another reason. (When you select that you want to cancel your account email is not an option. It just tells you when your account will expire and nothing about it going to recharge you when it does.) After telling them to cancel and refund me now they are telling me they can give me $15 off my next purchase instead! I just want to cancel I'm now disputing the charge through my bank.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Feb
28
2017
Krista
Colorado
Horrible Customer service

I ordered for the first time because of a 35% off coupon. I ordered three items and one was missing when it was received. I had to contact them about it. Their response was that it was out of stock and i could go back to the website and get on the waiting list. The product was still available so I contacted them again because I just wanted it fulfilled. They kept responding no but I could order again at full priced because they already refunded it. I didn't ask for a refund. The resolution specialist, Erica, was incredibly rude and dismissive. I think it's a scam and they just wanted me to order again at full price

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 6 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Feb
21
2017
Camille Wilkinson
Grass Valley, CA
Thieves

I opted out of Thrive Market very soon after paying the annual fee and one purchase. They somehow managed to steal another annual fee today. I am furious because I can not find a way to contact them. I live on SS, retired.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 9 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Feb
20
2017
Javert
Pennsylvania
Unethical

They make it almost impossible to cancel a membership. I did not wish to renew for a second year. There is no way to remove your credit card info via their website. The telephone is not answered during posted hours of operation. Multiple emails stating I did not wish to renew were acknowledged with emails trying to convince me to change my mind, then they went ahead and charged my CC anyway without notifying me of the charge. Fortunately, I checked my CC statement closely and refuted the charge through the bank. Their unethical business practices are in direct opposition to their stated mission. Shameful.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 7 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
amanda
March 22, 2017

Next time something like that happens, cancel your credit card and have a new one sent out. Then, they can't charge you, and as a bonus they will try to contact you to get your payment.

Feb
17
2017
Pat
Encinitas, CA
A great company

I've been a member for over a year and I order from Thrive every 2-3 months. I understood from the beginning (it's right on their web page) that there would be a yearly fee if I continued after the free trial period, but I love their products so much, it's definitely worth it! I buy in bulk, so the shipping is always free for me and always very well packaged - no breakage. I've never had any problems with the company, so I've not had to deal with customer service. I do like the fact that you can donate a percentage of your total to help sponsor a free membership for a low-income family. All in all, one of my favorite places to shop online.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 7 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Javert
February 20, 2017

You mention that you have not had to deal with customer service. Good luck if you do! PS They don't post negative reviews of products, only positive ones. Try it.

Patsy
March 30, 2017

You also mention they donate a % of your total. Check a little closer. There is little evidence that they have sustained any donations. Just enough to get a photo or a tag. Some of the sponsorship appears very shady. Like thrive giving a membership to an Indian Nation family and then someone else has to donate $50.00 for a family t get a box. No accountability posted to show how many memberships donated or how many families served. There are numerous warning signs this company is not what it markets itself to be.

Feb
15
2017
Electra Snark
San Clemente CA
What a rip off!

The membership fee is a total rip off! They do not offer free or discounted shipping with it. I have asked to cancel my membership, and they said they have cancelled it; however they have not refunded me the membership fee of $59.95, nor can I remove my credit card info from their site. What a waste!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Leave a Review
* Indicates Required Field
 
Popular Articles
Related Reviews
No reviews yet 
No reviews yet 
BY: Gina 
BY: Elizabeth O