Thrive Market Reviews

Thrive Market
Based on  247 Reviews
About Thrive Market
Thrive Market is an online retailer specializing in healthy and organic foods.  Similar to brick and mortar shopping clubs a membership to Thrive gets you access to discounts on carefully selected items.
 
The company was founded on the principle that eating healthy quality foods should not be difficult or expensive.  With the online marketplace they solve both issues by making the shopping experience convenient, and using the buying power of many to drive down costs.
 
When it comes to product selection Thrive focuses on partnering with the top brands serving a variety of health food niches.  Instead of overwhelming you with food options they hand pick the top products and focus on getting you the best price for them.

How Does it Work?

You can register for free and start browsing their selections.  First time shoppers get 15% off their first purchase.  When you do make your first purchase your free thirty day trial of the Thrive Marketplace will go into effect.
 
Once the trial is up you will be charged $59.95 annually for your continued use of the service.  This comes out to around $5 a month which they claim is offset by your average savings of 35% of retail costs.
 
All together they feature over 400 brands with 2,500+ premium foods, supplements, home, personal care, and beauty products.  You can easily narrow your search to feature products based on your dietary needs.  For instance you can sort by Paleo, Gluten Free, Raw, or Vegan.  You can also use over 90+ product filters for more specific needs like allergy restrictions, organic/gmo, and various other product standards.

Customer Service:

If you have any questions or would like to cancel your membership you can do so at any time by speaking to a customer representative.  They can be reached via their contact page at www.thrivemarket.com/faq?contactus, or by phone at (866) 419-2174.

Online Reviews/Complaints:

The website is still in Beta and customer reviews are slowly starting to come in.  Thrive does have the support of some popular Paleo bloggers such as Mark Sisson from Primal Blueprint.  They also have a growing fanbase on social media with over 4k facebook followers.

Competitors and Alternatives:

Specialty health food providers have embraced the internet as a great way to get their products out directly to the consumers.  You can find almost anything that you need for any diet online.  However using one dedicated online retailer gives you access to better savings and the convenience of one source; some other online Paleo retailers include Julian Bakery, Organic Prairie, and Vital Choice.

Coupons/Discounts:

Currently Thrive is offering first time shoppers 25% off their first purchase and free shipping on orders over $49.  Start your free trial today at Thrive Market.
 
If you are a member of Thrive Market or have checked out the free trial please review and rate your experience below.
 
247 ‘Thrive Market’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
Sep
6
2016
Catherine
NYC
slowest delivery ever

I have only received 2 out of the 20 items purchased 9 days ago. BUT I have received 11 promotional emails in the same time.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 7 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Sep
3
2016
Steven
NYC
Mickey Mouse Co.

Found them from their ad on FB for free one pound of honey. I went through all the hoops, 7 phone calls later, no order. I was told a new order was being sent out, no record, no email, no follow up. Call after call went on deaf ears to ignorant millennials who seemed like they were trained with 2 pages of protocol. When I went to cancel, 3 tries later, one manager hanging up on me, I still am unsure. So now I will file a complaint with BBB, State AG and Facebook for false advertising. What a mess, never will order from them again. I should have listened to the first rep from call one of seven into CS - he told me I will refund you and cancel your membership - he must have known something I did not - but now do - Mickey Mouse run company.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 11 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Sep
3
2016
Stephanie
New Jersey
So far so good

I started with the free trial and when I asked to cancel it, they offered me a year for half-price so I took it. I'm now happy to pay the full price membership because I can find so many products in one place that (as many people on here said) it's hard to find without driving all over the place. And so far everything seems a few cents cheaper here and there, plus they give tons of free samples. I never pay for shipping because I order in bulk. Seems about the same as paying for a BJs membership except I can find great food and house products that are hard to find (EPIC bars, Fishpeople soup packets are fantastic for camping!)

I've had some issues with shipping when they just started out (not getting an item I ordered twice) and the second time they tried to give me a credit toward a new purchase but I just wanted my money back so they did that. They're a very new ecommerce company and as someone who works in ecommerce I know how hard it can be starting up. Also in the beginning they were shipping from California and I live in New Jersey so the delivery took about a week, which is really long to me. But they recently opened a new location in the midwest and now I get my shipments much faster. So far I like it!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 6 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Aug
31
2016
Brent W
Portland, OR
IMPOSSIBLE TO CANCEL MEMBERSHIP, THEY KEEP IT GOING TILL YOU ARE CHARGED!

I wrote them multiple times that my email was going to the wrong email address. I sent 2 separate emails asking to cancel. One never got answered, the other did, but instead of cancelling my membership, they automatically enrolled me in a half a year instead! So I had to RE-EMAIL them to cancel the second membership, I never wanted!!!

The ONLY good reviews I see online are from people with affiliate ties to the company, so JUST BEWARE!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 10 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Beware
September 12, 2016

I canceled mine after being offered a discounted price. I was still charged. I took a screen shot of the communication and sent it this morning to cancel AGAIN, and was basically blamed for not replying to the discounted offer. Which I did. Almost immediately. Unacceptable.

Hate'em
September 27, 2016

SAME HERE! They never answer the phone, no one emails you back, and I even went onto their Facebook page! F* them! I called my bank and they removed the discounted price and took the overdraft away. When I realized they charged me I realized I forgot to remove my bank card information.

Aug
31
2016
Shannon
North Carolina
Great solutions for otherwise cost prohibitive items

I think thrive is taking a step in the right direction for affordable healthy food.

Orders are free over $49, so I usually high enough quantity to last me a month or so. In my area, I would have to go to multiple stores to find all of the items that I purchase from thrive, so it saves me the time of driving around town.

The low prices save me enough for the membership to be well worth it. Even if I don't get that many food items, I still use thrive for other bath and beauty products such as natural deodorants and shaving gel, which would be cost prohibitive to get elsewhere.

I've been using Thrive for over a year now and I've only had one broken item, and that was when they were a much newer company. They gave me a refund for the item and 10% off my next order. The company is still very new and growing their item choices very quickly.

Overall I think it's a convenient and inexpensive way to get healthy food.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 7 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Aug
28
2016
Jenna
Pennsylvania
So far no problems

I have been using this company for almost 10 months and really have no complaints. I love the selection and that I can just browse all sorts of new things to try out. Mostly they are cheaper than the grocery store but some of their stuff is on par with brick and mortar stores. I appreciate their environmentally conscious products and shipping packaging. I have had a few items I order no be in stock. They promptly let me know and then offer a coupon code for my next order for 10% off. That's pretty sweet. Often I get sent a free item with my purchase which is cool. Orders always ship in a timely manner and shows up in good condition. Basically all I get at the grocery anymore is perishables. I have not tried to cancel my membership so maybe that is where all these issues stem but so far customer service has been great! They are still a young company so I would hope they are working to resolve the membership problems customers are finding. Give them time. :)

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Aug
28
2016
eric
New York
On time delivery, good price. Impossible to easely cancel membership

Very happy with everything but I dont want to continue the membership and its not easy to cancel... abnormal way to do business.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Aug
26
2016
Sue
Palatine, IL
They make it impossible to cancel trial membership

I know that I cancelled the membership immediately after I tried it. Out of the blue I started getting their emails again. I opened one and it said my free membership was about to expire in 5 days and I would be charged the $29.95 yearly membership fee on Aug. 24th. The problem is I got the email on the 26th. So, I didn't really have 5 days, and they already charged my Visa, even though I know I sent a cancel email shortly after checking it outl Of course they make the directions for cancelling hidden. I finally went to "contact them" and sent an email. I tried responding to the email they sent me, but of course that was not "monitored."
I feel it is very deceptive to say that you will be charged in 5 days, on a day that has already passed, not giving you time to even try to cancel...again.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 17 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Dave
August 29, 2016

I had the same experience, Sue!

Beware
September 12, 2016

I canceled also! They tried to offer me the $29.95 discounted rate and I still advised rep to cancel. Surprise! They charged my card today. I was disappointed with my first shipment anyway. A bottle of peppermint cleaner was taped wrong and leaked entirely in the box soaking everything. I was quickly refunded for the empty bottle though.

Aug
25
2016
Alison Harrison
Dishonest and Appalling

I have emailed this company three times in the past two days about a delivery showing "delivered" that was not, a fake tracking number, and canceling my membership. The only response I received was a halfhearted apology. If these crooks ever allow me to cancel this useless membership I will never buy another thing from them again. Completely unacceptable customer "service".

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 10 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
jeanne
October 11, 2016

The exact same thing happened to me! They gave me an invalid FedEx tracking number, so I couldn't see for myself where the package was. They told me it was delivered on 10/4, but I didn't receive it. The customer service bonehead told me that they don't actually use FedEx, but something called On Track, and according to them, the package was delivered.

This was a "free" jar of almond butter I was expecting, as a bonus for pre-ordering Melissa Joulwan's latest cookbook. Thrive offered to re-send this "free" jar, but THEY'D HAVE TO CHARGE ME A FULL YEAR'S MEMBERSHIP FEE. WTF is this nonsense?!

This company is a SCAM. They need to go out of business ASAP.

Aug
24
2016
Corrie
Spokane, WA
Membership is VERY hard to cancel

I signed up for Thrive Market last year to try it out. I stayed on after the trial month because I thought I would purchase more than I did.

There is no easy way to cancel a Thrive Membership. You can't simply log in to cancel and I actually had to Google 'Cancel Thrive Membership' to find out how. In July of this year, I emailed Thrive to cancel my membership. I specifically stated in my email that I wanted to cancel.

Thrive responded with a special offer, a discount off the next years membership. I again responded and specifically stated that I wanted to cancel and did not want charged for this.

In the meantime, I got married. While I was away on my honeymoon, Thrive responded to my email (which I didn't see their response until today) and gave me another offer of a discount - stating that if I did not respond back, they would assume that I wanted to continue the membership.

I didn't realize that this had happened until this morning, when I received an email thanking me for renewing my membership. I was very surprised and called them. The customer service was less than satisfactory - and made it sound like it was my fault for cancelling. I highly dislike being pressured and that was what I have felt with Thrive Market. After a phone call that took longer than I would have liked, in which I had a difficult time understanding the representative, they did cancel my membership and said the membership fee they charged me would be refunded within 7-10 business days.

I really don't like dealing with companies that make cancellation a hassle - and Thrive definitely did not make life easy or leave me with a good impression.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 13 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Lynnette
August 24, 2016

They're trying to pull the same shit with me.

Von
August 26, 2016

Call your credit card company and have Thrive blocked. Then have the credit card company do what is called a charge back. I used to work for a credit card company and my role was to do charge backs protecting our clients. From your message above you have done everything required to inform Thrive to stop your membership. Good luck.

Aug
22
2016
Anna
New York
Give it a chance, people its a good cause

Yes i was attracted to thier sign for a free products and all I had to do was pay for shipping. I also did not realize that I had a trial, I was sort of fast with my hands and super excited for free coconut oil. I did have money taken out of my account but I called to ask what this was for. The girl was super nice and offered me a six month trial for half the price. I started to check out the site and realized my membership of great deals on healthy products was giving a family in NEED a membership for free also. so far I have saved aout 129$ on what I would normally buy at the grocery store, coconut oil, avacado mayo, plantain chips, even the diva cup, some essential oils, and gifts to my mother for her birthday. To me my half time membership was worth every penny and actually I will most certainly renew. Give it a chance and you can cancel after 6 month trial thingy.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 10 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Aug
18
2016
Minh Tran
New Orleans, Louisiana
Free Trial membership is a Scam!!

I ordered something from them. Tried to cancel my free membership and they are giving me a hard time. Is it that hard to understand what the word CANCEL mean?

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 15 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Beware
September 12, 2016

Same problem here!

Aug
18
2016
Stefanie
Houston, TX
I'm surprised by all these negative reviews

What I'm seeing from most of these reviews is that people are clearly NOT reading the membership agreement when they sign up for a "FREE" bottle of coconut oil or whatever it is that lured them into the store. There is no FREE lunch people! Read the print. It states that you will get a 30 day free trial after which you will automatically be charged for a yearly membership. PERIOD. If you don't want the membership, you can cancel it at any time. They are willing to deal on membership prices so ask for a lower price if you want to purchase more from their store.
I have had 3 orders so far and have been very happy with products, prices and shipping. My only complaint is that the arrival time for my products isn't lightening fast but I'm used to Prime shipping on Amazon and that's not what Thrive promises.
Stop complaining you got ripped off by this company and read the offers more clearly.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 14 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 5 Comments
Your mom
August 21, 2016

Please die

Anna
August 22, 2016

great post, sorry people have to be so ignorant.

Lynne
August 24, 2016

Sure, if they didn't make cancelling such a damn pain in the ass. But that's deliberate.

Beware
September 12, 2016

It's almost impossible to cancel!!! I have canceled three times now. I'm contacting my bank at this point. I have all of my email communications to cover me. They are clearly in the wrong. PS- I assure you I READ the fine print before giving anyone my personal information and credit card! ????

John
September 23, 2016

They are a scam rip off outfit that will bill you for unwanted charges and make it impossible to cancel an unwanted, unsolicited membership.

Stay away from these crooks!

Aug
17
2016
Jeff A
Indiana, USA
worst customer service experience ever

I love the concept of Thrive and their products. I was so excited when I found them. I made an order and got the free month membership. I sent an email to ask what date I had to cancel by if I decided not to get full membership. They responded by saying"Sorry that you want to end membership, would a 2 month free trial change my mind?" I responded and said I wasn't sure about cancelling and would consider the 2 month trial. They responded and said "Sorry you still want to cancel, would half price membership change your mind?" So the confusing emails and them misunderstanding me went on until I finally agreed to 2 free months and then half price membership. I sent another email confirming that was the deal. They instructed me to go to the site and make an order and enter a certain code so they could activate the extra free month and then make sure I was charged half price after that. So I did exactly what I was told. That same day I saw on my bank account that I had a pending charge for full price. Which was also going to make my account overdrawn. I called customer service to see what happened. AT 1st they told me I had not been charged and that my account had been cancelled. When I would talk to anyone in customer service they seemed confused and like they weren't sure how things worked or how things could happen and then how to resolve them. 't took a few calls and some time before they were able to realize what happened and how I was charged full price and didn't get the 2 free months. They said were reversing charges & they did go off my account. I told them to cancel the membership & that I was not interested in another one or any further dealings with their company. A few days later I received an email thanking me for renewing my membership. I checked my bank and had another full price membership charge pending. I called customer service & they said my account had been cancelled and there was no way I could have been charged again. I had to insist they keep looking until they found it. they said didn't know how it could have happened but they would reverse the charge. I waited a few days for the pending charge to disappear as it did the 1st time they messed up. But today the charge cleared and was taken from my account. I have sent more emails to customer service and am still waiting for a refund. I have never experienced so much confusion from a company. And was charged twice for something I did not authorize. I wanted to love this company and imagined I would tell all my friends to join. Now sadly all I can do is tell people what happened to me and warn them to stay away. I am sure the owner has good intentions. But I have no confidence in their service or system and can't trust them with my business.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 19 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Aug
17
2016
Joshua
Bangor, Maine
Scammers

Do not get anything from them. I paid shipping on an item that was free, that's fine I get that... But what makes me mad is I was automatically signed up for a membership that I didn't want. And now I am trying to get them to cancel my membership because I don't want to be charged at the end of the month. It's been over a week, and the only thing they said to me was the email that I use to sign in to the website with does not exist. They are FRAUDING everyone out of money. DO NOT use this site.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 14 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Aug
15
2016
Debbie
Newnan, GA
Very happy with my experience

I've been buying from Thrive Market for 9 months. I've received excellent customer service when needed but that happened only once when one of the items I ordered was not in the box. They immediately refunded the money onto my card and put a credit in my account to get that item for free in my next order. Otherwise, I've never needed to contact them for anything because they have done everything right! The prices are great. I did cost comparisons in the beginning and found that I was getting better prices than at my local grocery stores. I also don't pay for shipping because I buy once a month and stock up on the non-perishables that I use often, thus meeting free shipping costs. I don't mind paying $5 per month membership because I still end up saving much more. I also like that they help families in need. I'm glad I didn't see this review site before I joined Thrive because I am usually swayed by bad publicity. But in this case my experience is much different and I am very happy to have Thrive as my primary shopping source for non-perishables.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Aug
13
2016
tom
jones
sketchy membership fees

I bought from this site without realizing they have some membership scam running. They sign you up with some free trial period B.S. that isn't clearly stated in their communications. Then they charge you a membership fee on the day that the "free trial" is up. Complete scam by garbage people.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 12 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Pythagorean Theorem
September 03, 2016

In the checkout screen when you make your first purchase it clearly states on the sidebar that you'll get a 30 day free membership and after that be charged 59.99 per year.

Aug
13
2016
Jackie
IL
FRAUD

How in the hell do they get away with it? Someone needs to STOP this company. If I had the resources to take legal action against them I would to ive them have a taste of their own medicine. They have to be making MILLIONS off of this scam. If anyone with legal/financial resources can shut this shit down. PLEASE PLEASE stop them. This is a disgrace!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 11 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
Shirely
August 18, 2016

Thank goodness for this websight so we can check on these companies before we order from them.
How do they get away with this?...

The old saying..be careful..you get what you pay for !! I've seen this kind of rip off more than once and am amazed so many people trust these internet robbers. Check things out people Not everyone these days is honest.

Anna
August 22, 2016

I was taken back by the initial free trial and was upset when money was taken out of my account, however, I called I was friendly, I did my homework and researched 'HOW it WORKS' category where everything is clearly stated. Your membership helps give a family in need a whole membership of thier own. You are helping a community of health advocates and giving a lending hand to those in need. So far three purchases and awesome products. I plan to work for them one day because the small company may need innnmprovement but they stand for something bigger.

Catherine
September 06, 2016

I was charged for products I never received. How does that help our community of health advocates? Rip off artists and con men...

Aug
12
2016
Linisbel Albizar
Florida
TERRIBLE

I was browsing on Pinterest when I saw a good deal of a free bag of Chia seeds and all you had to pay was shipping ($2) I then realized that I had been enrolled in a free trial which ended in 30 days. I cancelled my trail the same day I made the account. They sent me a few emails which I replied to please cancel it as soon as possible. I check my bank account two days later and I'm missing $59!! The free trial was supposed to be 30 days and they didn't even tell me they were taking my money. I'm definitely calling customer service and try to get my money back. DONT SHOP FROM HERE ITS A SCAM

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 9 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Melina
August 13, 2016

I just realized the same thing. I've emailed them to try and get my money back. I didn't even realize we got a free trial. I just wanted to see how their shipping and customer service worked. Now I know. They stole my money!

Aug
9
2016
Susan
Sketchy free trial

I saw Thrive Market advertising a free jar of almond butter plus $2 shipping, to which I was completely down for, so I signed up for the trial membership. After the product shipped, I began to look for how to cancel the trial. What's weird is that unlike other shopping sites where you can click on a button and be immediately unsubscribed, Thrive Market requires you to notify them and wait for an email.

It took me 3 emails before I was unsubscribed. Customer service came up with new offers every time. No, I said, I'm not interested in an extended trial. (All I wanted was to take advantage of the cheap almond butter.)

Just keep sending them emails and say no. Otherwise they'll take advantage of your silence.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 7 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Leave a Review
* Indicates Required Field
 
Popular Articles
Related Reviews
No reviews yet 
BY: Gina 
BY: Kayci Wandel 
BY: Richard Howard