Thrive Market Reviews

Thrive Market
Based on  246 Reviews
About Thrive Market
Thrive Market is an online retailer specializing in healthy and organic foods.  Similar to brick and mortar shopping clubs a membership to Thrive gets you access to discounts on carefully selected items.
 
The company was founded on the principle that eating healthy quality foods should not be difficult or expensive.  With the online marketplace they solve both issues by making the shopping experience convenient, and using the buying power of many to drive down costs.
 
When it comes to product selection Thrive focuses on partnering with the top brands serving a variety of health food niches.  Instead of overwhelming you with food options they hand pick the top products and focus on getting you the best price for them.

How Does it Work?

You can register for free and start browsing their selections.  First time shoppers get 15% off their first purchase.  When you do make your first purchase your free thirty day trial of the Thrive Marketplace will go into effect.
 
Once the trial is up you will be charged $59.95 annually for your continued use of the service.  This comes out to around $5 a month which they claim is offset by your average savings of 35% of retail costs.
 
All together they feature over 400 brands with 2,500+ premium foods, supplements, home, personal care, and beauty products.  You can easily narrow your search to feature products based on your dietary needs.  For instance you can sort by Paleo, Gluten Free, Raw, or Vegan.  You can also use over 90+ product filters for more specific needs like allergy restrictions, organic/gmo, and various other product standards.

Customer Service:

If you have any questions or would like to cancel your membership you can do so at any time by speaking to a customer representative.  They can be reached via their contact page at www.thrivemarket.com/faq?contactus, or by phone at (866) 419-2174.

Online Reviews/Complaints:

The website is still in Beta and customer reviews are slowly starting to come in.  Thrive does have the support of some popular Paleo bloggers such as Mark Sisson from Primal Blueprint.  They also have a growing fanbase on social media with over 4k facebook followers.

Competitors and Alternatives:

Specialty health food providers have embraced the internet as a great way to get their products out directly to the consumers.  You can find almost anything that you need for any diet online.  However using one dedicated online retailer gives you access to better savings and the convenience of one source; some other online Paleo retailers include Julian Bakery, Organic Prairie, and Vital Choice.

Coupons/Discounts:

Currently Thrive is offering first time shoppers 25% off their first purchase and free shipping on orders over $49.  Start your free trial today at Thrive Market.
 
If you are a member of Thrive Market or have checked out the free trial please review and rate your experience below.
 
246 ‘Thrive Market’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
May
9
2017
VIctoria Castro
Help please

Can anyone help me on how to end the memebership because they won't even answer the phone for me to try. They are so unprofessional it makes me sick.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
May
3
2017
Trinity
Wilmington, NC
Amazing Customer Service

I made a mistake with my account and called their customer service number in hopes of fixing this mistake. I spoke with Timothy and he was not only incredibly helpful but also incredibly friendly. I have placed two orders with Thrive Market and have been satisfied with both orders. Everything was carefully wrapped, delivered quickly and I was able to get good deals on the products I typically buy at my local grocery store. Thrive Market is convenient, inexpensive, and from my experience truly cares about their customers! Thanks again, Timothy for giving me an excellent experience.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Apr
12
2017
Janet LaBarre
Wrightwood, CA.
easy to cancel trial membership

I was able to find the customer service phone number easily to verify that my trial membership had been cancelled. It is (866)419-2174. I hope this helps those who had difficulty cancelling.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Apr
3
2017
AnnaMarie Lubow
Idaho Falls, Idaho
TERRIBLE customer SERVICE

There is no Cancellation button, you must submit a "ticket" and they take their sweet time returning your email, then they argue with you and then they try to bully you into a 1/2 year membership. Finally, they will grudgingly admit that they will cancel your "trial membership" but wait... there's more.

They charge you anyway!!!

My prediction is they either get bought out by someone like Amazon who understands customer service or they go under with the weight of their membership fee.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Mar
26
2017
Jay
East Coast
The fee reminds me of a marketing scheme

I saw Thrive on FB and decided to check it out because the prices seemed lower for some things that I do buy online. I didn't put 2 and 2
together that the membership was mandatory to use the market or I didn't see it in the TOA. I wish I had done some research before to get an idea of what it was; and who's invested in it; and any of the other "paleo-celebs" endorsing it.

I do like the idea of giving to someone in need with healthy food, but for 59.95, I can do that myself.

Caveat emptor

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
DAVID IAMS
April 01, 2017

SCAM SCAM SCAM FRAUD AND THEFT.. DO NOT BUY HERE.

Mar
17
2017
Linda
Harrisburg, PA
Bad Company

Took up their offer of one item free just pay shipping. I carefully read all the fine print...no mention of 30 day trial and then $59.95 charge on your credit card. After 25 days they notified me that my 30 day trial would be up and my yearly membership would start in 5 days. They had a click if you didn't want the membership. I clicked and opted out. Today I got an email welcoming me with my new membership. I checked my visa and they changed me for a six month membership fee of $29.95. This is fraud.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Mar
12
2017
Angel
Unethical; Fraudulent charges deducted

I will never deal with this company again!! They stole money from my checking account and are completely impossible to contact. I never signed up for their bogus so called "membership", yet a $60 "membership fee" was deducted from my checking account from Thrive recently. I went to their website and realized that a "yearly account" was set up, which I NEVER did myself. When I tried to remove my checking account information (which I am assuming they placed on my "account" from payment information I used for a one time order of vitamins), their website would not allow me to delete.

They certainly do not make it easy to contact them - their advertisements certainly did lure me in and I was one of the suckers that was led to believe that this was an honest and ethical company to do business with - boy was I wrong.

They have put my into a financial sticky wicket to say the least by deducting this money without my permission - I have now endured countless non-sufficient fund fees because I paid bills with what money I should have had in my account, had Thrive not stolen from me.

I am not holding my breath expecting any contact from them, let alone do I expect that they will reimburse me - I should have done my research better before I purchased product from them - I have read countless stories like mine on line and shame on me.

Beware - do not purchase from this company!

I am now closing my checking account so they can't continue to rob from me.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 9 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Bethany
March 13, 2017

I am in the same boat. They signed me up for a membership and I DID NOT do this. Canceling the membership is like a nightmare. I am still on hold to do so and then I am WARNING EVERYONE!!

Mar
12
2017
dana
Monterey, CA
no review - I am deciding whether to join or not.

Currently, I am an Amazon Prime member. Why am I adding this? Because a friend is trying to get me to join with Thrive. Now, I know that referring a friend to join Thrive will get them 15% off an order (which is fine!), but I had to really look into it because I already pay the yearly Amazon Smiile fee. I have noticed that some things are less expensive with Thrive, but not overwhelming so. Combined with the lack of no customer service, I'm better off paying a nickel more at Amazon.

With Amazon, it's easy to cancel,(I cancelled my Fresh membership). It can be done on line. Also, customer service is amaaaaazzzzzing. If I don't get something delivered, they don't ask questions, and just send another order out. Fast. It's very easy to get Amazon customer service on the phone which makes me feel safe ordering and trusting them to hold my credit card information.

Also know this: Amazon Smile gives back a percentage of each order to the charity or non profit of YOUR choosing. I chose a small charitable organization in my home town.

Thanks for all the feedback and reviews. It's helped me make up my mind.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Angel
March 12, 2017

beware of Thrive!!! I am happy for you that you decided to stay with Amazon - Thrive is horrible!!!

Mar
11
2017
Olutosin
Nashville, Tennessee
My Experience with Thrive Market is Becoming so Unbearable

I am new to Thrive and it seems like this relationship will end sooner than expected. My last 3 orders never got to me until several weeks after and i had to call in for a reorder several times.
My last order was a very bad and stressful experience. I was made to go pick up my order at my local post office, on getting to the post office, I was told my order was probably sent to another address.

I have been trying so hard to reach Thrive market up until now, the lines are not going through.
I do not think I will continue will Thrive Market just so I can have my peace of mind because I stress so much about this.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Mar
10
2017
Charlee
USA
CHARGE WITHOUT CONSENT AND WONT LET YOU CANCEL

I had Thrive Market for a year but decided to cancel because I can shop on Vitacost for usually the same prices without paying a yearly membership. They make it impossible to cancel. There is no way to cancel on their site. I tried calling and could never get ahold of someone to talk to. I emailed them, but only after having to select that I was contacting them for another reason. (When you select that you want to cancel your account email is not an option. It just tells you when your account will expire and nothing about it going to recharge you when it does.) After telling them to cancel and refund me now they are telling me they can give me $15 off my next purchase instead! I just want to cancel I'm now disputing the charge through my bank.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Feb
28
2017
Krista
Colorado
Horrible Customer service

I ordered for the first time because of a 35% off coupon. I ordered three items and one was missing when it was received. I had to contact them about it. Their response was that it was out of stock and i could go back to the website and get on the waiting list. The product was still available so I contacted them again because I just wanted it fulfilled. They kept responding no but I could order again at full priced because they already refunded it. I didn't ask for a refund. The resolution specialist, Erica, was incredibly rude and dismissive. I think it's a scam and they just wanted me to order again at full price

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Feb
21
2017
Camille Wilkinson
Grass Valley, CA
Thieves

I opted out of Thrive Market very soon after paying the annual fee and one purchase. They somehow managed to steal another annual fee today. I am furious because I can not find a way to contact them. I live on SS, retired.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 8 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Feb
20
2017
Javert
Pennsylvania
Unethical

They make it almost impossible to cancel a membership. I did not wish to renew for a second year. There is no way to remove your credit card info via their website. The telephone is not answered during posted hours of operation. Multiple emails stating I did not wish to renew were acknowledged with emails trying to convince me to change my mind, then they went ahead and charged my CC anyway without notifying me of the charge. Fortunately, I checked my CC statement closely and refuted the charge through the bank. Their unethical business practices are in direct opposition to their stated mission. Shameful.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 6 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
amanda
March 22, 2017

Next time something like that happens, cancel your credit card and have a new one sent out. Then, they can't charge you, and as a bonus they will try to contact you to get your payment.

Feb
17
2017
Pat
Encinitas, CA
A great company

I've been a member for over a year and I order from Thrive every 2-3 months. I understood from the beginning (it's right on their web page) that there would be a yearly fee if I continued after the free trial period, but I love their products so much, it's definitely worth it! I buy in bulk, so the shipping is always free for me and always very well packaged - no breakage. I've never had any problems with the company, so I've not had to deal with customer service. I do like the fact that you can donate a percentage of your total to help sponsor a free membership for a low-income family. All in all, one of my favorite places to shop online.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 6 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Javert
February 20, 2017

You mention that you have not had to deal with customer service. Good luck if you do! PS They don't post negative reviews of products, only positive ones. Try it.

Patsy
March 30, 2017

You also mention they donate a % of your total. Check a little closer. There is little evidence that they have sustained any donations. Just enough to get a photo or a tag. Some of the sponsorship appears very shady. Like thrive giving a membership to an Indian Nation family and then someone else has to donate $50.00 for a family t get a box. No accountability posted to show how many memberships donated or how many families served. There are numerous warning signs this company is not what it markets itself to be.

Feb
15
2017
Electra Snark
San Clemente CA
What a rip off!

The membership fee is a total rip off! They do not offer free or discounted shipping with it. I have asked to cancel my membership, and they said they have cancelled it; however they have not refunded me the membership fee of $59.95, nor can I remove my credit card info from their site. What a waste!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Feb
7
2017
LC
Boulder CO
Love it! Easy and Convenient

I'm really loving my membership to Thrive Market, and I haven't had any problems. It's a great way to get hard to find healthy products delivered right to my door, and the discounts are awesome. I don't have a car right now (just a bicycle), so being able to shop online is a great convenience and the website is easy to understand. I really like the shopping list feature too. Not sure why there are folks who say this is a scam, because it's not a secret that after 30 days they will charge a one time (yearly) subscription fee. I think some folks should be mad at themselves for not reading what is clearly stated. I really love Thrive Market, and I will continue to be a happy customer.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 6 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
SammyR
March 30, 2017

There are any number of reasons a family would want to cancel their membership for the coming year. The website does not allow you to cancel. You must call a phone number that is not answered and leave a message. After no one calls you back, call another number and try to cancel. The run around you get is classic scam. I hope you have continued enjoyment. Just be aware should you need to cancel or decide to cancel you membership for whatever reason, you will need to fortify yourself to get it done.

Eveloue
May 06, 2017

Try to cancel your membership just to see how it really works, some have canceled, get refund from their CC and TM charged again the next year, so they use you CC informations as they want... And by the way, I can find the same products at a better price easily.

Feb
6
2017
Electra
Orange CA
They have cancelled my membership.

I am still waiting for a refund. What a rip-off! Membership does not offer free or discounted shipping. This place is useless!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Jan
25
2017
Boby
South Carolina
SCAM

I wish I would have seen this before I went to the site for coconut oil. What a scam. The first screen with the "Only a $1.95" as all of you know is false advertising. It should state 30 day free membership and $1.95 so there isn't a false expectation. Oh well Burn me once shame on you burn me twice shame on me....there won't be a second time with Thrive Market.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 14 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
SCAM SCAM SCAM
February 09, 2017

I was never informed of an annual fee that was immediately charged after purchasing only ONE item. I was only informed of this when they tried to charge my account and because of the funds, it was unsuccessful. Also, to try and find the information on how to cancel the membership is near impossible. Thrive Market, you're a piece of shit.

Blake Johnson
February 18, 2017

I was ripped off the same way jerk fucking company. I'm filling with BBB of Culver City.. and attorney of the city.

Mia
April 30, 2017

Did any of you ever get your money back? They did the same thing to me!

Jan
22
2017
Irene Babayan
San Diego, CA
Horrible experience with website and customer service

I have never had such a rip off in my life!! The most unsatisfying experience with website and customer service.
I accidentally placed an order and tried to cancel it within the first 5m but there was no such option. By the time I emailed customer service and asked them to cancel my order their reply was that they are unable to cancel it and charged me for $59.99 of membership that they refused to cancel.
Stay away from this website!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 15 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
Denise Darcangelis
January 24, 2017

I had NO idea of an annual membership fee. I was never sent notice of this and it was charged to my account. I asked to be removed and the membership fee or partial to be refunded. I was told they understood, but could do nothing. Buyers please note they do not work with customers. I wish I read the reviews before doing business with them. This company does not have customer service on their side!!!

kane
February 28, 2017

They have had many complaints w/ BBB as well as numerous online sites. They responded to BBB with many promises. Unfortunately the scams still continue.
I literally did not have any cc info and processed my "free" order through Paypal. After a number of days not seeing any confirmation of the order nor mailing - I suddenly see a "membership charge" processed through Paypal on a Sunday. I emailed immediately and canceled this as well as the order.Please note that they did not have any info that said ( we cannot process this order w/o a membership). Additionally, they did not have any cc info from me. Upon reviewing the Paypal transaction, I noticed that on the second page that they ( Thrive) has in small print that you are authorizing that they can charge you through Paypal. Of course, you have never seen this agreement, authorized a membership or authorized any charge. Additionally, I received an answer today from "La Toya" who said that they could not cancel the membership because an ORDER had been placed after a membership was purchased. THIS WAS A LIE !. The order was placed w/ no knowledge of membership and STILL has not been processed. I have disputed through Paypal who are usually good about this type of thing. My reco is to go online on every site you find and lodge a complaint as well as disputing through cc companies , emailing & calling. Thrive WILL NOT take care of this. Please avoid this company - CAVEAT EMPTOR _ Buyer Beware !

Julie
March 12, 2017

BBB gave them an A-....

Jan
22
2017
Thomas Weierke
Saint Paul MN
Scam

I purchase a bottle of apple cider vinegar 4 weeks ago and just went true my credit card statements and just found out they charge me an annual fee $ 59 without telling me.. What a shitty deceptive company!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 15 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Leave a Review
* Indicates Required Field
 
Popular Articles
Related Reviews
BY: Gina 
BY: Amy 
BY: Richard Howard 
No reviews yet