The Paleo Secret Reviews

The Paleo Secret
Based on  19 Reviews
About The Paleo Secret
The Paleo Secret is a popular website and line of Paleo resources run by husband and wife team, Drs. Chad & Brenda Walding.  They specialize in producing helpful information such as paleo recipes, workout and mobility tips, lifestyle advice, and motivation for succeeding with the Paleo diet.
 
The Paleo Diet has helped thousands of people lose weight, get off of medications, and heal from a variety of digestive diseases.  It is not a miracle cure but simply encourages people to eat a modern version of an ancestral diet combined with strenuous but efficient exercise.
 
With the help of resources such as the Paleo Secret you will learn how the standard American Diet may have been quietly contributing to a variety of health issues and how you can simply reverse that by eating real wholesome foods.

Products and Programs:

The most popular of their programs is “The Paleo Secret 30 Day Challenge.”  In this course you will get a comprehensive yet easy to follow guide to the Paleo way of living.  And if you stick with it for 30 days you are guaranteed to see results.
 
You will see the difference between dieting and eating Paleo and why one produces short term success and the other gives you the tools for a lifetime of health.  With Paleo there is no:
  • Counting calories
  • Weighing portions
  • Expensive programs
  • Long hours in the kitchen
Instead you simply increase nutrition and minimize toxicity by cutting out processed and high sugar foods. This reduces inflammation in your body, speeds your metabolism, and begins transforming your body.
 
The Paleo Secret 30 Day Challenge is an incredibly low cost investment into something that has the potential to significantly improve your health.
 
They also offer a free Paleo recipe book called, “Cooking with Coconut.”  This 56-page cookbook offers you 19 healthy recipes that make use of the incredible Coconut.
 
These healthy recipes are a great way to get your feet wet with Paleo and see that the meals are easy to make, taste great, and most off all have incredible health benefits.  Properly incorporating Coconut into your diet can help you: naturally lose weight, boost metabolism, regulate hormones, rejuvenate skin and hair, and protect brain/bone/heart health.

Cost and Price Plans:

The 30 Day Challenge ebook costs $27 and $67 if you would like it shipped as a hardcover option.
 
The Cooking with Coconut cookbook is free in digital format and will cost you $5.96 in shipping if you would like a physical copy.

Customer Service:

The Paleo Secret 30 Day Challenge comes with a 90 day money back guarantee.  If you try the program and do not see any results in that time you can request a full refund.  If you have questions about any of their products you can contact someone at cs@thepaleosecret.com.

Online Reviews/Complaints:

There are many positive testimonials found online for The Paleo Secret program.  However people have also had some negative experiences mainly with the ordering process.  When you go to pay for the 30 Day Challenge book the default option is set to digital and physical copy of the book for $67.
 
There are complaints from people who accidentally ordered the print version of the book when they only wanted the digital option.  Some people have also complained that they felt misled because the book does not have many recipes in it.  While that may be the case you can still get all of The Paleo Secrets’ recipes online from their website.

Competitors and Alternatives:

There are many options for Paleo guides, not all are created equally and as the diet becomes more popular the quality of information becomes diluted.  Some other month long programs include: Abel James’ 30 Day Fat Loss System, The Paleohacks 30 Day Paleo Challenge, and the 21 day Sugar Detox.

Where to Buy?

You can download the books directly from ThePaleoSecret.com.
 
If you have tried any of their products please describe your experience in detail below.
 
19 ‘The Paleo Secret’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
Feb
12
2018
Janine
Australia
It is the biggest scam be careful

I bought flat belly DVD which would hav cost 5 dollars and have found that they have charged me 86 dollars for the past 4 months be very careful if you buy anything

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Feb
3
2018
Patricia Lamb
Jimboomba Australia
Best thing I ever did

I discovered Paleo Chad and Brenda Two and a half years ago
Went on the 30 day challenge ,the best $49 I ever spent,as well as
feeling good inside I look good on the outside with my weight loss,
can't thank them enough P,xx

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Jan
21
2018
Alice
NYC
Scam Minus 5 rating

This past summer I agreed to pay $9.95 for the better belly dvd.
I have only just realized that I have been charged a re-curring $67 monthly. I didn't sign up for anything.
Scam artists

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
csantee
January 24, 2018

Same here what a scam !!! I declined all of their offers for the Paleo 30 day challenge and they still set it up to withdraw the money from my credit card !!

Monika
January 30, 2018

I fell for buying some of the products and they never arrived.

Dec
30
2017
Christine Herberg
Scotts Valley, CA
Rip Off Artists

I ordered this program on November 4. On the same day, I received a phone call from "Chad". He said he was going to personally set up my account so I get the best results. I was very flattered and spent the next 30 minutes on the phone with him discussing my "plan". At the end of the conversation, he offered to sell me a bunch of supplements - a year's worth, for the "low, low price" of only $32 per item. I told Chad that there is no way I could afford this and that I already ordered 1 month trials of the products. He then told me he'd offer me the low price for a 3 month supply of each item instead -- The total was to be less than I'd paid for a 1 month supply, so I said sure. He said he'd rush me a receipt. The receipt never arrived. I followed the plan for the next 30 days. Unfortunately, I did not see any results. So I decided to request a refund so I checked my credit card. Little did I know, my credit card was charged over $1,100 and I had been enrolled in a monthly plan. I never authorized this. I returned all of the products I received nearly a month ago and I am still waiting for my refund to be processed. AVOID THIS UNETHICAL COMPANY AT ALL COSTS.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 34 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Monika
January 30, 2018

I had to call my bank to deal with them.

Dec
18
2017
Jodie Buerk
Delray Beach, Fl
Could not get the refund promised

I could not do this diet due to medical issue. Returned all materials and receive a 20$ round . I have made 5 calls and none have been answered.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 19 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Nov
16
2017
Glynis Scott
Townsend, MT
False advertising

I looked at the article on Facebook andI looked at the $27.00 digital but was charged $67. I have not received the book and yet charged. I want a refund as I was lured in by false advertising.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 24 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Oct
22
2017
JR
Should have read reviews

Total rip off! I read through the "secrets" in about 10 minutes. Nothing you can't find online for free. I'm a sucker...total waste of money.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 23 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Sep
23
2017
Ralph barbato
Maryland
Need weight loss

I am 71 years old my son did paleo secrets and lost 24 pounds so I just decided to tried the 30 day challenge. I was 269 pounds and went to 248 pounds in 28 days with more energy and on my way down in weight
It works if you decide to stick to it!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Nancy Dezio
September 30, 2017

A more specific paleo food bill vs the average 'American diet, if it's possible would be helpful. I thought there was no exercise in this (not that I mind exercise), but I just want to know WH'AT is involved. I gained weight due to my thyroid, and also in the last 2 yrs., fat belly due to chronic (,many years-28) inflammation, and a massive dose 90+ poisons from a health food supplement in 1989,. I will be sick the rest of my life, auto immune, cognition, nerves,muscles,connective tissue,skin, bones, pancreatitis, blepharitis, dry eye syndrome, digestive issues for decades, chemical sensitivities/allergies. I went from super healthy to poor health in a day. Many people died in the beginning and probably most are dead (or wish they were) by now. Now I learn the toxins have ruined my liver (fatty liver), I have stage 3 renal and could go blind. Can paleo help me with any of this? My whole body is inflamed too. etc etc HELP IF you CAN/ I feel like I have tried everything under the sun, am trying to live off social security, which is almost all toward medical Any help would be greatly appreciated. i left out tons of my symptoms. Some doctors think I am nuts. The main thing I want to do is LOSE my FAT BELLY. I was always a size 2 until about 2 years ago. Now I don't know what size I am, but I have NEVER seen such a disgusting belly. Didn't even know it was possible.

Aug
21
2017
Bonnie
No Free Option

Nice young couple who present themselves well. They offer many different "books" with two options. You can get the free e-book or for cost of shipping and handling you can get the "hard cover" book.
However - when you go to get the free e-book, there is NO OPTION for the free e-book, just a place to put in credit card info for the "hard cover" version. As someone on a very fixed income, I cannot afford the cost, so....... no book - no info - no paleo instruction.
Why offer a free version and then provide no way to obtain it? As we used to say in the '60s - that's a real bummer. Or it could be called "bait and switch."

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 21 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Debra Green
September 04, 2017

Yes, mislead would be accurate! Im on fixed income as well. I think im getting recipes to lose weight & it also says you don't pay for shipping . well this
A.m. i have shipping charges!!
I cannot afford a coconut, like I
Money to pick a selection, NO!!
I wanted original Book with Tumeric to show you goid eating habits! Im not Happy!
I will try to call today, but getting someone to UNDERSTAND IS ANOTHER THING!! God Bless

Jul
1
2017
Nancy
Carmel, California
Thanks for the warning!

Thankfully, I read your reviews just moment before I hit the "order" button....I would rather spend my day at Carmel Beach than argue with people who act disingenuously....

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 21 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Renee La Montagne
August 01, 2017

I wish to cancel my subscription to the 30day diet. :lease refund my credit card immediately. Our cardiologist does not want us to go on this diet. Please call me immediately. Thank you. Rene'e La Montagne (970) 433-8084

Susie Jones
January 05, 2018

Did they call or credit your card?

May
20
2017
Louise
Los Angeles, CA
Bilking $40/Bank suggests Dispute charge/Paleo works, use different program

Here's the upshot, below is the story (be sure to read the beginning and the very end, even if you skip the story):

The Upshot: I ordered the $27 plan and was charged $67. I contacted Lexicon Health and they told me the book had shipped and refuse it. I saw the comments here and called my bank, who opened a dispute charge and immediately resolved it, giving me the $40 I requested.

Eating paleo works, whether through this company, PaleoGrubs, Paleohacks, Dr. Loren Cordain, etc., so that's not a scam.

BUT here's what's going on: Brenda writes, "Here’s how the 90 day money-back guarantee works. If you’re not satisfied, then you don’t pay. Simply email in, and we’ll send you a polite and courteous refund. No hoops, no questions, no quibbles." You'll likely get the $27, but you're still out (and they're still IN *your*) $40.

The Story: I was very, very careful to only sign up for the online 30-Day Challenge for $27. Carefully didn't sign up for any other add-on, no hard-cover book, no for-cost guide, as I wanted to see what the program offered. Got a Welcome email saying "It's Chad and Brenda from Lexicon Health and you've just purchased one of our amazing health products!", not specifying which one and no confirmation email was received (such as other companies like amazon.com sends) saying you've purchased this product for this amount of money.

When I saw a charge of $67 on my credit card, I immediately contacted Lexicon to request an explanation and a refund of $40. They replied, "You might have selected the bundle instead of the digital copy." They DIDN'T say - you ordered the bundle, they said "you might have".

I clarified that I hadn't ordered it. Lexicon Health replied, " I am sorry, I am seeing here the product was shipped to you. Please do refuse the product and let us know when that is completed." I then asked her what's the best way to refuse it and she replied with the tracking link. Wait, no confirmation email of a shipment had been sent to me, with or without a link!

I then read the comments here and saw a pattern, including their "not receiving" the book back. I called my bank, explained the situation and the rep said to dispute the charge. I did on that phone call and right there and then she said the situation was resolved, the $40 will be back in my account. Done.

The End: Integrity is *really* important to me. Brenda also wrote, "When I first started helping people, I made a vow to be honest." Promising $27 for the program but charging $67 isn't honest. Making people feel they made the mistake, my bad, oops, isn't cool. Many people probably miss the $67 charge by not looking at their statements and trusting they're charged what they ordered, a program for $27.

With so many people having the very same experience, this doesn't appear to be a computer glitch. It appears to be quite intentionally bilking folks out of $40.

Too bad Brenda and Chad. You have something to offer. You don't need to do it in this underhanded, dishonest way. I won't recommend your program just for this reason, but instead suggest others.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 91 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 4 Comments
Sue
June 23, 2017

This very thing happened to me as well, I would never have agreed to a charging of $67 month after month! They ripped me off! Bad business people! Don't get nvolved.

Joe
September 03, 2017

They are not doctors. They have doctorates in physical therapy, and while technically they can refer to themselves as doctors it is deceptive and implies medical doctor.

Helena
December 27, 2017

I ordered yesterday and immediately saw I was charged $67, instead of $27. I contacted them and they refunded $40. But yes, that's deceptive.
(I would never want the hardcover book.)

william
January 20, 2018

I ordered the book 20 days ago and the charged my card 87$ never received the book.

May
5
2017
Judy Rowe
Victoria, Australia
Yes, ITS A SCAM

To keep it short, I too signed for $27 but was charged for a physical book. I immediately rang to question this and was refunded the difference (didn't receive the book). Then a "coach" rang and conned me into a 6 month subscription to receive ALL the benefits of the programme, at $814 USD !!!! I did not receive the 360 book, and the two A5 booklets I did get were priced at $100 and $214, value around $15 each. My "coach" has not been in touch since, and my complaints to customer service result in absolutely NOTHING. Very polite, but stiff cheese, apparently. What an exorbitant price for dozens of emails.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 40 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Tina
May 14, 2017

Try going to their site on Facebook and telling your story. They respond better then.

william
January 20, 2018

tried getting some attention to the fact on face book with no avail .

Apr
18
2017
Michele
NJ
TOTAL SCAM!

Same as above. They scam you into buying the $27 and charged me $67. I called and they told me to refuse the package and now say they still haven't received it. I'm going to have my lawyer write a letter. So sad that they advertise a "healthy" business when really they are in it to scam people for money.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 31 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Apr
3
2017
Hayley Smith
Missouri
Scam

When I bought this I got digital only for $27 but they charged my card $67 for both the digital and paperback which is basically a pamphlet. This is a money scam. AND then they call all the time with a PERSONAL COACH who really is a glorified sales man!!!!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 32 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Debra
April 09, 2017

I won't b ordering on my credit card Thank You!!

Mar
29
2017
Linda
Nokomis, FL
SCAM

The money back guarantee is a scam. They will not refund my money even though I returned the product unopened. They said they did not receive it even after the post office confirmed with a tracking number that they DID RECEIVED IT.

SCAM SCAM SCAM SCAM SCAM!!!!!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 37 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Ken
April 03, 2017

BBB! and AG office

Debra
April 09, 2017

Very helpful will not use my credit card to order this

Mar
28
2017
donna stuart
destin, Florida
misleading

I paid $27.00 as the facebook ad pulled me in to detoxing.. I thought what a great opportunity.. but then the book came in , no info about cost but then on my credit card $67.00.. No thank you, I want my money back.. I called but no return call, let's see if anyone calls me back. before I turn to my credit card for help?

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 30 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Louise Lane
May 16, 2017

call the credit card company right away and dispute the charge.

MS. MARY
May 29, 2017

Looks like I won't be ordering from THIS company…

Mar
2
2017
Alycia
Sacramento, Ca
Good info but save your money

I join the 30 day Paleo Secret challenge. When I joined I thought I paid the 27 for the eBook but I didn't pay enough attention and ended up with the hard copy (magazine type) book. My bad for not paying attention on the check out. The book is a lot of good info but nothing you cant find on the internet for free. The subscription comes with daily emails and weekly menus. Which are nice but again you can get all of this for free. On my second day a rep called and said they would be checking in and helping me with my program. I was at work and asked if they would call me in the evening, they agreed but I never heard from anyone again. I followed the program and I feel great, I love this way of eating. Now that the 30 days are over the daily emails have turned into daily sales of some other produces - try this or try that. Just a bunch of sales crap. So over all Paleo is a great way to eat especially if you have food allergies - but save your money and just do a little research. You can find a ton of info for free.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 64 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Debra
April 09, 2017

Will not b scammed into paying 67.00 for magazine, will search info in Web. Thank you!

Jan
4
2017
Ann
Vacaville, CA
Not just for weight loss, but better health

I have tried many diets (Atkins, Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, Cabbage Soup, etc) If a celebrity endorsed it, I tried it. Some I lost weight, but I always gained it back. And sometimes more. I can't lose weight as easily as I could when I was younger. And no I have less time to go to the gym. I've always had digestive issues, and now its worse.

What I learned from the Paleo Secret (Chad and Brenda) is that this ISN'T a diet. It's a lifestyle change. It takes some adjusting. But this program explains everything, offers resources, free cookbooks, and a private client Facebook forum where you can ask questions and see lots of other people's results. You can get an e-book for $27. There are other options too for additional costs, so make your selection carefully like the other reviewer said.

This is like the anti-diet. It teaches you to eat healthy (even though I thought I already did) and the pitfalls of processed foods, sugars, dairy, etc. You can customize it. I lost 10 pounds which wasn't as much as quickly on other "diets" but I am continuing to lose and I feel great. My stomach isn't bloated. My nails are growing like crazy. My blood-pressure is back to normal. I have been cooking Paleo for my family and they barely even notice, minus the French bread. Sure, it takes more time to prepare meals yourself rather than ordering a pizza, but have you seen how much time cancer takes to treat?

This is an incredible value and I have learned so much.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 41 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Louise Lane
May 16, 2017

Sounds like someone from the company wrote it.

ellen
August 06, 2017

agree with Louise Lane.

Dec
5
2016
Judy
Spring, TX
SCAM

Facebook ads lured me. When I clicked on the special offer for$27 it charged $67 to my card. BEWARE! FALSE ADVERTISING!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 55 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 5 Comments
Viewer
December 29, 2016

Reviewers beware. This person is falsifying them. Reviewer had the option to just pick the ebook $27. You should have read more carefully what you ordered. They did NOT false advertise. You did not pay attention to the order options when ordering. They had 3 order options to choose from. You could either pick 1) ebook only, 2) hard book only, OR 3) ebook and handbook. If you quickly pressed continue you clicked through default options.

Fitmess
February 07, 2017

I agree, there were several options. It's helpful when providing feedback to be truthful ... Even when it's not in the best light as the feedbacks are meant to help others.

donna
March 28, 2017

very misleading.. off facebook ad... I thought what an opportunity for $27.00, but OH , next month $67.00 charged on my account. You bet it is within the 90 day money back guarantee, lets see if they call me back??? as I left a message as they were too busy with other people.

Debra
April 09, 2017

Won't order off fb ad!

Ellen
August 06, 2017

how many examples like these will it take to stop these people scamming innocent people? Victims should call BetterBusiness Bureau!

Leave a Review
* Indicates Required Field
 
Popular Articles