Foam Glow 5k Run Reviews

Foam Glow 5k Run
Based on  34 Reviews
About Foam Glow 5k Run
The Foam Glow Run is a fun 5k race that focuses more on having a good time with friends than competitive running.  As the name suggests runners will be exposed to glowing foam and black light elements throughout the course.
 
The race is designed to cater to all levels of physical fitness, from experienced distance runners to casual walkers.  The idea is to simply have fun and racers will start wearing a white shirt and finish a multi colored art piece.

How Does it Work?

The way Foam Glow courses are setup is that every so often racers reach a glow zone with a dedicated color, by running through here you get covered with their 100% natural and non-toxic foam.
 
After you get doused with all the colors and finish the race, you will be treated to a great after party featuring music, food and black lights to show off your colors.
 
Racers also have the option of competing individually or as part of a team where you would have a team name and race together.  All registrants will receive a Foam Glow race shirt, tattoo, and sponsor swag.
 
The race is very family friendly and even supports children running with their parents.  Kids 5 and under get to race for free, unfortunately pets are not allowed.
 
They say that the foam should wash off from most clothes but at the same time recommend wearing items that you don't mind getting glowed. They also recommend bringing towels for the ride home.
 
The cost of the run varies from $20 to $40 depending on how early you register.

Customer Service:

All racers are required to pick up their pre-race packets at designated areas, if you pick up on race day there is a 5 dollar fee.  Once you register for an event keep in mind that there will be no refunds issued.  However you can transfer your ticket to another runner provided you do so a week in advance of the race.
 
If you have any questions you can contact a rep at service@foamglow.net or by phone at 877-228-4881.

Online Reviews/Complaints: 

The reviews for these races are mostly positive.  As long as you understand what you’re signing up for you should have a good time.  This is not a competitive race, it is open to all age groups, and you will get covered with foam colors.

Competitors and Alternatives:

Themed runs and charity runs are taking on wild new iterations, with everything from color runs to zombie runs now available.  Whichever race you choose just research the organization to make sure that if it is for charity that they actually donate, and that the company can handle the logistics of a race.
 
Some other popular mud/fun races include Rugged Maniac, Spartan Race, and the Epic Series Race.
 
If you have participated in a Foam Glow Run please leave your review below.
 
34 ‘Foam Glow 5k Run’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
Jun
27
2016
addison
indiana
My hair...

my hair is fing pink dude

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Diamond
July 12, 2016

What time did it end for you

Jun
26
2016
Tiffany Geiger
Indianapolis, IN
Pink hair

This was the second fun run we had done this month. The pre party and after party where great but also free. I was disappointed with the course for the simple fact lack of foam stations and the water they offered wasn't just warm but HOT like it was sitting in the sun all day and here I was drinking it at 10pm. Also, no where on the site when singing up is there a warning to us blonde about the potential to dye our hair pink. I have tried every home remedy with no luck and now have to resort to paying a professional. Had I known there was a risk I would have worn a hat or something. The bubble run we participated in the week before left only our shoes stained which we figured. I fully expected for the pink to wash out atleast after 2 washes but NO. All in all I will not be returning!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Diana
June 26, 2016

Foam run was fun. But having pink hair has been costly. Our eyes burned not fun.

Jun
18
2016
Manda
Calverton, Md
Fun - But not quite worth its cost

Registration for early birds: 20$
Registration for everyone despite supposed price increase: 20$

Online registrations "fee": 5$
Parking: 10$

Sandwich from food truck: 7$

Child sized sweet tea from car: 2$ (Did not expect to get 6 oz for 2$ o.O)

Fee to pick up packet on site: 5$ (Found this out after registering or would not have been doing this race! As someone who works, I can't drive to the race sites which are usually 30 minutes + away on a weekday just to pick up materials. I don't mind waiting in line and showing up early, but being charged for it as a penalty fee? Yuck. From reading other reviews, I gather this is the only or one of the only companies to charge for this!)

Course: In our case it was a race track so turf varied from asphalt track to sort of paved (hard to see) road and dirt path behind the track/stadium. There were many, many unmarked holes and changes. There were cones with reflective strips that did not have any reflecting going on at all because there were no lights to mark them. On the back stretch there was a steep embankment on the left side which meant anyone trying to pass the many many people walking and ignoring directions to stay on the right. (A pet peeve of mine is this even on leisure runs because even power walkers don't want to have to navigate constantly around four or five people talking and selfie-ing).

I saw lots of kids and I would not bring my child just because of the uneven turf and many holes/dips. I also wouldn't bring any underprepped (or inebriated) adults. Even cautious and experienced runners could easily fall here.

Hydration stations: Mini bottles of water handed out midway through race (only a trashcan there though so had to chug or carry bottle to end). Lots of them were then littered on course and dangerous/invisible waiting for people to step on. Water not chilled.

Foam color: Didn't sting me at all, tasted awful when showering, definitely dyed my blonde hair with highlights - I now have pink highlights. I'm okay with it... but assurances it will wash out do not take into account light hair or color treated hair with highlights/lighteners used. Beware!

The before/after party has a cool dj, and yes, it's fun. .. but honestly you could do that without paying and no one is closely looking for bibs!

I would not pay between 40 and 50$ to do this again. I had fun because of the friends I was with and a decision to make the best of it - but this probably won't be a repeat race for me- at least not a paid one!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Apr
30
2016
Tara
Austin Tx
Warning for blondes

Lots of foam, great music, overall not bad. Warning however to Blondes.....YOUR HAIR WILL DYE PINK!!! A SIMPLE WARNING WHEN SIGNING (just even say it might dye light hair) UP SO THAT I COULD HAVE TAKEN PRECAUTIONS AND WORN A HAT COULD HAVE SAVED ME ALMOST $200 AT THE SALON AND DAYS OF HUMILIATION. I am a professional and pink hair is unacceptable. Won't consider again. :(

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Mary
August 01, 2016

How do you remove this terrible pink from highlighted hair? why do they not warn people? terrible

Mar
21
2016
Ellie Jones
nashville
amazing

None of these reviews are accurate.. I did this a while back and it was the best night of my life! :-))) 10/10 would recommend

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 6 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
Geist Guy
June 25, 2016

My wife and I in about six friends just did one of these in Indianapolis. Overall it was a complete waste of time and money. We've done plenty of mud runs and plenty of other events, and those have been fun. This is a complete rip-off. You basically walk around parking lots 4 an hour and a half, and there are three phone machines that you walk through, but otherwise it's about as much fun as walking around looking for your car in the dark. We were talking with some other people who are also doing the course, and they all agreed that this was somewhere between a scam, and a waste of time. Never again...

Tiffany Geiger
June 26, 2016

Completely agree just did the same one, and now not to mention I have pink hair that is gonna cost me money to have professionally fixed because I have a professional job.

Gayle
July 31, 2016

Not all foam glows are equal. You can't argue a review on an event that is not the same event you attended. Even though it is tha same company they are not consistent with event planning and procedures from one place to the next. We did foam glow a while back also, in Talladega. It was GREAT! But this one we attended on July 30 in Nadhville was horrible! Talladega, had colored foam, four foam canons with people who knew how to operate them, bigger after party area, better race track, starting point was where viewers could see runners take off, and over all the event vibe was better. In Nasville the foam was nothing but white, it stung your eyes, there were only two foam canons with people who had no clue how to operate them, the after party area was small and had uneven pavement covered with dark sand bags just waiting for someone to trip on, the race track was a horrible zig zag line that was dark, starting point was so far off that spectators could not watch up close or get pictures of runners. The bad reviews are spot on with my experience. So is your good review. Why because it depends on which event you went to.

Mar
13
2016
Jenny
Hair is pink

I loved this event don't get my wrong I had lots of fun but people with blonde or light brown hair beware that it stains your hair I've tried washing it a millions times even with tide as well it won't come out also the color is every hard to get off your skin using dish soap should help

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Feb
16
2016
Candy
Pensacola, Florida
My hair is PINK!

The event was organized, but the route was patches of grass, gravel and pavement which I found to be unsafe in the dark. The foam part was great, DJ was not for me (but I am older - not a teen/college student), and glowing in the dark was interesting. However, 4 days later I still have pink hair. I am fine with it staining clothes, as I have participated in mud runs, etc. and you must wear old clothes and shoes that I either wash at a laundry place or throw away. That is fine. My blonde hair, however, is still pink after 5 washes with Dawn dishwashing liquid. I am a little confused as to what to do so any suggestions are greatly appreciated. I am a professional and avid runner and enjoy having a great time, but I would rather not have remnants of pink hair. Guess it could be worse though, at least it's not green or yellow!!! Everyone should try it just to say you've done it, but beware as you may leave with your hair a color in which you didn't anticipate!!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Jenny
March 13, 2016

I'm having the same problem because I'm also a blonde and this stuff is hard to get off the body

Oct
25
2015
Hunter
Chula Vista
Never Again

Dear everyone with light brown or blonde hair, do not ever participate in this run. No amount of washing or bleaching can return your hair to its natural hair color. I have spent about a year growing out my light brown hair and after 8 unsuccessful watches, I am forced to cut dye and cut my hair. Furious. Never again.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 7 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Shay
January 31, 2016

Has it returned to it's normal color yet?

Aug
30
2015
Stephanie
Indianapolis, IN
Fun run, not for hardcore racers

Reading the above reviews, I think it's only fair to provide perspective. This is a fun event, held most commonly at fairgrounds. That said, the course is going to be a mixture of rough patches and parking lot pavement. The event isn't promoted as a hardcore race, times are not of importance to their target audience (based on organization, location, and marketing). This is perfect for people looking to have fun and exercise. Even more perfect for people who may be insecure in their abilities.

We chose to do this run for fun, as a way to encourage friends and family to get out of their comfort zone and complete a 5k breaking their own personal records. The organization of the event is loose but not horrible for an event of this type, and at this ticket price. The pre/post party is fairly standard (again it's the free part of the event open to the public, so don't expect epic world-class DJs). It's just a good time.

If you need to be reminded, never let any foreign body (foam or powder) get into your eyes or mouth. You don't need an ingredient list, just common self-preservation skills. Some runs require you to wear eye gear or worse yet buy their eye gear, I'm glad that FoamGlow left it up to the individual. I brought glasses to wear while in foam zones. And had no problem even keeping the fresh stitches on my face clear from foam with a little preventative measure.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Jul
26
2015
Sarah
Cleveland, Ohio
Foam glow review

I ran the foam glow run in Cleveland with a couple of friends of mine. The event took place at the same venue as the annual Irish festival so parking was a disaster and runner got so many dirty looks. The "pre party" featured a dj and some hype guys who played mostly techno music and a couple songs but everything changed often and it seemed like they only had samples of songs and couldn't play the whole thing. Once that ended everyone packed into a small area near the finish line. As we were waiting everyone was really spectulating on where the actual course was because you couldn't really see anywhere and there didn't seem to be much space for a course. They released people in waves and it was horribly unorganized. Runners and walkers were all thrown together. The majority of people were walkers. My friends and I planned on run in the whole course but the pats were so thin that it was really hard to get past people that were walking. The course was also one of the worst I've ever run. It was really terribly planned out with a lot of running in the same place and one part was just a parking lot with 7 or so zig zags across it. The whole course had many pot holes and a couple places had horse poop. Ew! Since the race wasn't timed I kept track on my phone. I checked the time at one point and my friends and I had been running for about 15 minutes and there hadn't been any indication of the first mile and we were definitely past a mile by then. When we crosse the finish line we were utterly confused. As runners who have done many 5ks in the past we felt like the course hadn't gone long enough. as we were speculating this a man turned and told us he used a satellite running app through the race and that it was only 2.6 miles rather than 3.1. Afterwords we stuck around and went to the after party. That was a load of fun! We danced for about an hour and a half. The foam was spraying the whole time where as the preparty only had it speratically. The foam was up over my waist (I'm about 5'4) so the environment probably wasn't the best for younger kids. The got a lot of great pictures. I would suggest that anyone running in one of these races in the future put their phone in plastic wrap or a plastic baggy to keep it safe. At the end of the night all our clothes were dyed pink and yellow. Since we were pretty damp we put plastic disposable table clothes on the seat in my car so that nothing got on it. Overall, the party portions were super fun. The running was really disorganized and disappointing. I did have a lot of fun though.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Jul
2
2015
Jessica
Tampa, Fl
HORRIBLE Don't waste your time or money!

I am never going to an event put on by this company again. I participated in the blacklight run in Tampa, FL on 6/27/15 at the FL state fairgrounds. This run was so disorganized and so over sold 15,000 people and that's not including the ones who joined that day. It was my first 5K so being excited about it we got there early enough to miss the lines trying to get in (I had a friend that sat in line for 2 hours trying to park) but we didn't get much color powder on us once the race started. We were the 5th or 6th group to go through and by the time we got to the areas they throw powder on you they were out (if we wanted colored powder on us we had to pick it up off the ground and throw it at each other). You didn't see any volunteers on the course helping out. A few black light spots didn't even work. The pot holes were horrible (I walked it and even had problems with them). The paths were hard to see and once you started runners and walkers were mixed together so bad that people were tripping over each other or running in to each other. Someone is going to wind up getting hurt on one of their runs. I expressed my concern on their facebook page and they deleted my statement about it. Blacklight run deleted anything negative on their page and then blocked the people from commenting. Foam glow is also put on by this company and I was going to go to it but after my experience with the Blacklight Run I have decided not to.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
May
19
2015
Lisa
Amarillo, tx
Canceled Run

Buyer beware! They can cancel the run for any reason and they do not give refunds! They don't respond to emails or Facebook messages! You are out of luck and it is money in their pockets in the name of Charity!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
May
11
2015
Leah
Shelbyville, TN
I am only giving it one star because zero is not an option.

My take on the Foam Glow 5K event in Nashville on May 9, 2015. This has also been filed as a formal review with the BBB.

--------

A warning to anyone considering the Foam Glow 5k Runs...

The Nashville event and the response of 1N3 LLC in relation to concerns has soured me entirely on ever being involved in another of the company's runs. Instead of responding to concerns, they have resorted to deleting any negative comments from their Facebook page and are not being transparent about the risk participants take. I am now seeking out avenues for posting reviews to which they have no deletion abilities.

I have heard great reviews of the pre-party before the party, but because of the 17,000+ other people there, we couldn't even get close to the stage. The race course itself was a major issue. It wound around the property at the Tennessee State Fairgrounds in Nashville, which was not a suitable location for a 5K. We walked on a mixture of asphalt, uneven grass with holes hidden in the grass and by the dark, and gravel pathways composed of large stones several inches thick that were not packed down. Today, I am nursing a very painful knee/ankle injury caused by stepping into one of the hidden holes.

The course itself was very poorly marked and there were several areas where people bottle-necked. We had to wait for about 10 minutes to make it through an opening in the fence at one point, where traffic was going in both directions.

Today, my eyes still sting from the foam getting into them, and when I showered last night and some of the water ran into my mouth, the taste was horrendous. I am truly concerned about what exactly was in the foam, becuase no one bothered to release an MSDS sheet of ingredient list.

There was very poor traffic control getting out of the park after the run and people were sitting for quite some time in their attempt to leave. There were only 3 foam stations around the actual course, when the event was hyped up to be so much more. There was very little lighting and it was only sporadic, contributing to the dangerousness of the course itself.

The foam itself STAINS. Not only clothes -- that is to be expected. However it will also stain hair. I know of one woman with pink hair this morning, and another with neon orange. It was said the colors will easily wash out of hair, but that is not the case.

This event was VERY poorly executed and I have serious questions about whether they actually do donate some of the hundreds of thousands they made to the local children's hospital, as is vaguely advertised on their website. I hope the experiences of runners in other cities is different because in Nashville, our experiences were not good.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 11 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Travis
May 15, 2015

This has to be one of most poorly planned and executed races I've ever run. There seemed to be little to no preparation for this. The pre-race party that they hyped up on their website was a complete bust, and the amazing DJ they claimed to have was not even that great.
Besides that, the actual race was horrendous. I ran the race in Nashville, and it took place in the state fairgrounds. I should've known better, because that is a terrible place to map out a 3 mile run! There were too many people, and the course could not handle the thousands of people running. The course was usually really narrow, so people were trampling each other trying to navigate it. At one point, the course narrowed so much that only about three to four people could stand side-by-side. This narrowing backed up the entire crowd, and we had to wait for at least 5 minutes to get through this part! I don't understand how they can map out such a horribly designed course! I understand that this is supposed to be a fun run/walk and that it's not timed. However, I prefer to run my races, and this 5k is not equipped to handle so many people, so I was constantly stuck behind walkers and people with strollers. It was so frustrating and disappointing.
Lastly, there was basically no foam! There 3 stations at most, and there was barely any foam at them. I finished the course almost dry.
Overall, 1/5 stars. Horrible, horrible race and an enormous disappointment.

May
10
2015
Bobi
Nashville
Terrible

Barely any Foam at all....No organization...people were walking on top of each other.....because the course gets so arrow. Someone needs to get help from other 5k's to see how they are really done.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 6 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Leave a Review
* Indicates Required Field
 
Popular Articles
Related Reviews
BY: Nick 
No reviews yet 
No reviews yet 
No reviews yet