Foam Glow 5k Run Reviews

Foam Glow 5k Run
Based on  26 Reviews
About Foam Glow 5k Run
The Foam Glow Run is a fun 5k race that focuses more on having a good time with friends than competitive running.  As the name suggests runners will be exposed to glowing foam and black light elements throughout the course.
 
The race is designed to cater to all levels of physical fitness, from experienced distance runners to casual walkers.  The idea is to simply have fun and racers will start wearing a white shirt and finish a multi colored art piece.

How Does it Work?

The way Foam Glow courses are setup is that every so often racers reach a glow zone with a dedicated color, by running through here you get covered with their 100% natural and non-toxic foam.
 
After you get doused with all the colors and finish the race, you will be treated to a great after party featuring music, food and black lights to show off your colors.
 
Racers also have the option of competing individually or as part of a team where you would have a team name and race together.  All registrants will receive a Foam Glow race shirt, tattoo, and sponsor swag.
 
The race is very family friendly and even supports children running with their parents.  Kids 5 and under get to race for free, unfortunately pets are not allowed.
 
They say that the foam should wash off from most clothes but at the same time recommend wearing items that you don't mind getting glowed. They also recommend bringing towels for the ride home.
 
The cost of the run varies from $20 to $40 depending on how early you register.

Customer Service:

All racers are required to pick up their pre-race packets at designated areas, if you pick up on race day there is a 5 dollar fee.  Once you register for an event keep in mind that there will be no refunds issued.  However you can transfer your ticket to another runner provided you do so a week in advance of the race.
 
If you have any questions you can contact a rep at service@foamglow.net or by phone at 877-228-4881.

Online Reviews/Complaints: 

The reviews for these races are mostly positive.  As long as you understand what you’re signing up for you should have a good time.  This is not a competitive race, it is open to all age groups, and you will get covered with foam colors.

Competitors and Alternatives:

Themed runs and charity runs are taking on wild new iterations, with everything from color runs to zombie runs now available.  Whichever race you choose just research the organization to make sure that if it is for charity that they actually donate, and that the company can handle the logistics of a race.
 
Some other popular mud/fun races include Rugged Maniac, Spartan Race, and the Epic Series Race.
 
If you have participated in a Foam Glow Run please leave your review below.
 
26 ‘Foam Glow 5k Run’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
Aug
12
2017
Gerry Yong
Edmonton, Alberta
Stay home and have a bubble bath

It's nothing. You get a shirt and walk in the dark. Nothing is provided. We saw two,foam stations and you walk through coloured foam. Nothing is sprayed on you! Don't worry about getting wet basically you just walk. It's dangerous as it's in the dark.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Jul
23
2017
Melissa
Commerce city, co
DANGEROUS

Saw a runner BREAK HER LEG after she ran into metal bar hidden by suds that was not protected. My daughter also tripped over same bar. STAY AWAY!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Jun
4
2017
Ahumanbeing
California
Don't waste your time

This race was not what I expected.. there was only two foam station that had no color....they ran out of the shirts in my size I ordered and had to take a smaller size down and when I asked for my daughter friend to trade her shirt from Medium to small they said they can only go what was ordered on the passes... It made no sense since they gave me a different size for my shirt since the ran out of my original size but could make a simple,shirt switch. The water station sucked it was hot water that I believe they pours from the water hose... the track was unsafe not much lighting and many people where at risk to getting hurt... the after party sucked too...and there was no direction on how to exit the area and many people were confused .... don't waste your time and money I could been doing something better that this 5k run.... I would have had more fun going to my local gym than this event... I say save your money and when Color me RAD comes to your town do that 5 k instead because that what you call a real 5k run and deliver exactly what they promise. #### foamglowsucks!####

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Apr
21
2017
Kim
WASTE OF MONEY!!

I had signed up for the Sacramento location LAST YEAR! Have been receiving emails throughout the year for this event. Suddenly, I get and email a week prior to my event on April 29th saying that I had registered for Little Rock, AR. for the 22nd?? WHICH IS TOMORROW! CANT MAKE TRANSFERS TWO DAYS PRIOR TO RACE!! OF COURSE NOT! TRIED CONTACTING BUT THEY KEEP SENDING ME THE SAME FAQ INFO. HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE! VERY DISAPPOINTING! this was supposed to be my newly wed husband and I first race event together and we looked forward to it all year!! They switched my event with out telling me and wont change it or refund. I followed instructions on how to change event and when I clicked "my events" signed in and then it said -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
5. How Do I Transfer My Registration to a New Event/Date?
1. Go to you confirmation email.
2. Click "My Events"
3. Click “"Transfer to another Event"
4. Select the race
***Online transfers MUST be completed at least (2) days before the event. If you need assistance be sure to email service@foamglow.net before the cut-off.

6. Managing Your Registration
1. Go to you confirmation email.
2. Click "My Events"
3. Log in to Active.com if prompted.
4. On the left, select the appropriate link. (i.e. Transfers, Merchandise, Team, etc.)
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
"click to transfer to another event" there was no such option....only said...

View my registration
Edit registration information
Change event category
Purchase additional merchandise

change category DOES NOTHING! TOTAL SCAM! SO UPSET!

Its fun if you feel like wasting your money and not even attending the event and receiving no help whatsoever.(:

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Oct
16
2016
Melinda Rodriguez
San Jose,ca
disappointed

Lots of fun at the pre-party and after party but highly disappointed in the running portion. Although the rain and mud is out of the control of event coordinators the placing of working (and mostly non working ????) foam stations are. Having the foam stations actually Up and running to maintain the foam glow event rather than a mud 5k would have been more fun and motivating....
The placement of 1 out of 2 working foam stations was ankle deep in mud caused by the foam/water. As well the running path had holes (man made), uneven areas and mounds of dirt with no clear markings. The lady in front of me tripped twice in 2 minutes because of this! A cone or small light in the more dangerous areas could have prevented her injuries and those of other participants. This was in the control of the organizing committee. I feel if the venue were to change I may go back. But the organizers really do need to look into the safety of the course they set up. It is the complete dark after all...
*Would I do it again? Not at this venue. I would cautiously re register at another venue.*

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Oct
16
2016
Ben
San Jose
Dangerous and should be fined

The 10/15 San Jose Foam glow was extremely dangerous.

-someone had to be taken by ambulance, I saw several others being treated in a tent. Fire/police/ambulances were called to help with people's injuries.
-one of the foam stops broke and the foam became an electrocution risk (2 police officers ushered runners through a clear path)
-the course was unlit through a fairgrounds, but extremely uneven and had debris (stumps and logs) which cause runners to stumble

Danger aside, we went to have fun and the promise of foam but got neither. The foam is pretty underwhelming, it really just feels gross and makes your shoes soggy. The after party just looked gross, don't get me wrong, I like a bubble bath every once in a while, turns out I don't like sharing a foam bath with strangers :)

I am al m/26, and I went with three friends. You know it's a bad run when most of it we were worried kids would trip in the foam pit and get lost in the foam and trampled, it's seriously that ghetto!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Melinda
October 16, 2016

I agree. I was there as well and I feel that this event was something for many people. I left a review similar to yours

Oct
12
2016
Amanda
Irvine
Scam

This race was advertised at a store that was being demolished. They knew well in advance that the race would not occur on that race day (Site demolition was announced 6 months ago). We registered 5 people in the event believing it was on a Saturday. The race day was moved to a Sunday and they will not refund out money. They only reply with copied and pasted text from their website. No consideration for Religion. Also, deceiving to advertise and promote a race that is not going to happen.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Scam is Right!!!
October 14, 2016

Registered for the same race and am having the same issue. They change the date of the event to a day that I am unable to attend and refuse to give a refund. I am now trying to dispute the charge through my credit card company.

ANONYMOUS
October 20, 2016

Same thing happened to me, I had to work really hard in order to get the date of the original event off from work (as I work nights), they changed it with little to no notice and I am now unable to attend the event because I cannot get anyone to cover my shift in time and they are refusing to give me a refund. It isn't even the same day of the week. This is so ridiculously unfair!

Sep
11
2016
EB
San Antonio, TX
Scam

2016 San Antonio 6 Flags Fiesta tx, sep 9th:

I registered 4 people including myself with a 20$ early registration fee, 40$ PROCESSING fee, so it ended up being 117$ plus 10$ parking(in which we waited 2 hours afterwards to get out) with a 5$ pickup fee per shirt?? (also had paid 5$ beforehand for a 2xl shirt in which they "ran out of shirts" depending which stall you went to). Finally got to the race after waiting in line for about an hour and a half just to be dissapointed by the lack of paint or blacklights. In fact, there was NO PAINT AT ALL. Just foam stations that spit out smelly dish soap. There were 3 stations but only 2 worked throughout the 5k. Water bottles were tiny, hot, and given near the end of the race, by then people had already stopped by vending machines to get some drinks. Then we got to the zig zag part in a massive parking lot that led to a pathetic ending and an afterparty no one could reach. Then of course the traffic getting out was horrible.

Paid a ton of money to wait, pay more money, and wait some more. This was a whole bunch of false advertising and ripping people off with glow sticks.

You've been warned.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Sep
9
2016
Angry Customer
Utah
Fraud

Watch out for these guys- I purchased for this race and they registered me for a different one. They charged twice- first one VIP prices- which was what I signed up for but not the blacklight run they kept saying I did, second charge for the foamglow at regular pricing. Refused to refund either charge- refused to just move one charge over to the correct race, extremely poor customer service. It's a bait and switch. I never attended a blacklight run, never received any goods or product for $70.00 + which is flat our fraud.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Sep
5
2016
A Cherry
Houston, TX
Worst run ever

This run was ghetto, unorganized, and staffed with unprofessional buttholes. At check-in they did not even scan our tickets and charged us 5$ for picking up tee shirts. They served hot water at water stations. Their "colored foam" was pretty much dish soap with food dye. Their sad ass foam cannons and foam stations barely had any foam. PARKING WAS HORRIBLE! It took us an hour and a half to park. We arrived 2hrs before the run started and still waited in their crappy parking situation. They had you enter Sam Houston Parkway only to exist it to park in the back for 10$. Also, half of the items we bought for this run did not even work. For example, neon sunglasses worked for about an hour, liquid neon paint did not work, and the neon wrist band did not work! The lamest run I have ever participated in.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Aug
1
2016
Mary
Met Life
pink hair

I have highlighted hair which is now pink. Hair stylist afraid to touch it. How do i remove this? Tried shampoo,wash liquid,and degreaser, Nothing works. Very very embarrassing. Organizers should get sued. No warnings given.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Jul
18
2016
S.C.
Cleveland, OH
Very little foam. Very little glow. Very big disappointment.

All of the pictures on their media show people running through awesome blacklight landscapes, slathered with neon paint, walking around festival-style with vendors and lots to do, so we naturally assumed that this is what our experience would be, too, but this event delivered on NONE of these points.

When we arrived there was NO event staff in sight to tell us where to go, and just a flag that said "start" with a long, empty track. We were afraid we had missed the race entirely because it was so quiet and barren, but we kept going. We reached a serpentine of cones and ribbon-- no blacklight, no paint, no foam, no anything except for pavement-- for about a mile, which we started skipping over again after a few minutes because we just couldn't believe that this was part of the race. We eventually headed for the only gate in sight, which had foam and blacklight on it, which was fun for 2 or 3 minutes, but when we started jogging out again, we only found more tightly wound tracks made with cones and ribbon on pavement and dirt, some of which were knocked over and seemed to fork into separate directions, and as there were NO signs or arrows or event staff or anything else to guide us, we just had to guess and wander around trying to follow others until we found the second foam gate, which was exactly like the first one, and was also the LAST one. So, literally, the ENTITE 5k was just a poorly laid ribbon-and-cone track over a large parking lots with TWO foam gates, and absolutely NOTHING else. The final gate was just lit-up in red and had a "finish" flag, not even with more foam or anything at all at the end. We were confused and frustrated, so we wandered over to the stage, hoping the rest would be better.

Unfortunately, even the after-party was a let-down. We definitely weren't the only ones confused as tons of people in the audience would smile as they came into the crowd, then quickly settle in to just stand there with an "is this it?" look on there face, as an occasional blast of foam would be shot directly into the crowd (which we got to inhale a fair amount of because for some reason shooting it slightly OVER the crowd didn't seem to occur to anyone in the event staff.) The music was pretty much what I expected but with very uninspired DJs and mediocre sound. We were also dodging people with strollers in the dance area (seriously) and the highlight was getting to infrequently tap one of two beach balls that would sometimes float over. We bounced around for a few minutes, but became bored pretty quickly and left hardly an hour after getting there.

All of the e-mails leading up to the event said there would be food and drink available onsite (which I guess must have been generic reminders), but the day before our run, they sent the same e-mail but with the food/drink section saying that there would be no alcohol at the venue-- A small detail for us, but still pretty unprofessional. They also gave us running bibs, but there were no photographers at the event and we had no race chips, so I can only assume the bibs were to make everything appear more legitimate than it really was. There were no vendors at all, just a string of registration tents and a photo booth with a Foam Glow 5k background. It was absolutely not worth $20, which I had been to believe by the advertising was a great deal.

From other's reviews, some of the Foam Glow events sound like get can be great, but my guess is that they really skimp on everything severely when they know the crowd will be smaller. I understand scaling down to accommodate for less people, but to deliver less than what your customers were promised and paid for is completely unprofessional and unfair, regardless of the expected turn-out. I will never be participating with any event this company or series puts put again-- I've done several runs like this in the past, and couldn't believe how terrible this was.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 6 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Jun
27
2016
addison
indiana
My hair...

my hair is fing pink dude

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Diamond
July 12, 2016

What time did it end for you

Jun
26
2016
Tiffany Geiger
Indianapolis, IN
Pink hair

This was the second fun run we had done this month. The pre party and after party where great but also free. I was disappointed with the course for the simple fact lack of foam stations and the water they offered wasn't just warm but HOT like it was sitting in the sun all day and here I was drinking it at 10pm. Also, no where on the site when singing up is there a warning to us blonde about the potential to dye our hair pink. I have tried every home remedy with no luck and now have to resort to paying a professional. Had I known there was a risk I would have worn a hat or something. The bubble run we participated in the week before left only our shoes stained which we figured. I fully expected for the pink to wash out atleast after 2 washes but NO. All in all I will not be returning!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Diana
June 26, 2016

Foam run was fun. But having pink hair has been costly. Our eyes burned not fun.

Jun
18
2016
Manda
Calverton, Md
Fun - But not quite worth its cost

Registration for early birds: 20$
Registration for everyone despite supposed price increase: 20$

Online registrations "fee": 5$
Parking: 10$

Sandwich from food truck: 7$

Child sized sweet tea from car: 2$ (Did not expect to get 6 oz for 2$ o.O)

Fee to pick up packet on site: 5$ (Found this out after registering or would not have been doing this race! As someone who works, I can't drive to the race sites which are usually 30 minutes + away on a weekday just to pick up materials. I don't mind waiting in line and showing up early, but being charged for it as a penalty fee? Yuck. From reading other reviews, I gather this is the only or one of the only companies to charge for this!)

Course: In our case it was a race track so turf varied from asphalt track to sort of paved (hard to see) road and dirt path behind the track/stadium. There were many, many unmarked holes and changes. There were cones with reflective strips that did not have any reflecting going on at all because there were no lights to mark them. On the back stretch there was a steep embankment on the left side which meant anyone trying to pass the many many people walking and ignoring directions to stay on the right. (A pet peeve of mine is this even on leisure runs because even power walkers don't want to have to navigate constantly around four or five people talking and selfie-ing).

I saw lots of kids and I would not bring my child just because of the uneven turf and many holes/dips. I also wouldn't bring any underprepped (or inebriated) adults. Even cautious and experienced runners could easily fall here.

Hydration stations: Mini bottles of water handed out midway through race (only a trashcan there though so had to chug or carry bottle to end). Lots of them were then littered on course and dangerous/invisible waiting for people to step on. Water not chilled.

Foam color: Didn't sting me at all, tasted awful when showering, definitely dyed my blonde hair with highlights - I now have pink highlights. I'm okay with it... but assurances it will wash out do not take into account light hair or color treated hair with highlights/lighteners used. Beware!

The before/after party has a cool dj, and yes, it's fun. .. but honestly you could do that without paying and no one is closely looking for bibs!

I would not pay between 40 and 50$ to do this again. I had fun because of the friends I was with and a decision to make the best of it - but this probably won't be a repeat race for me- at least not a paid one!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Apr
30
2016
Tara
Austin Tx
Warning for blondes

Lots of foam, great music, overall not bad. Warning however to Blondes.....YOUR HAIR WILL DYE PINK!!! A SIMPLE WARNING WHEN SIGNING (just even say it might dye light hair) UP SO THAT I COULD HAVE TAKEN PRECAUTIONS AND WORN A HAT COULD HAVE SAVED ME ALMOST $200 AT THE SALON AND DAYS OF HUMILIATION. I am a professional and pink hair is unacceptable. Won't consider again. :(

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Mary
August 01, 2016

How do you remove this terrible pink from highlighted hair? why do they not warn people? terrible

Mar
21
2016
Ellie Jones
nashville
amazing

None of these reviews are accurate.. I did this a while back and it was the best night of my life! :-))) 10/10 would recommend

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
Geist Guy
June 25, 2016

My wife and I in about six friends just did one of these in Indianapolis. Overall it was a complete waste of time and money. We've done plenty of mud runs and plenty of other events, and those have been fun. This is a complete rip-off. You basically walk around parking lots 4 an hour and a half, and there are three phone machines that you walk through, but otherwise it's about as much fun as walking around looking for your car in the dark. We were talking with some other people who are also doing the course, and they all agreed that this was somewhere between a scam, and a waste of time. Never again...

Tiffany Geiger
June 26, 2016

Completely agree just did the same one, and now not to mention I have pink hair that is gonna cost me money to have professionally fixed because I have a professional job.

Gayle
July 31, 2016

Not all foam glows are equal. You can't argue a review on an event that is not the same event you attended. Even though it is tha same company they are not consistent with event planning and procedures from one place to the next. We did foam glow a while back also, in Talladega. It was GREAT! But this one we attended on July 30 in Nadhville was horrible! Talladega, had colored foam, four foam canons with people who knew how to operate them, bigger after party area, better race track, starting point was where viewers could see runners take off, and over all the event vibe was better. In Nasville the foam was nothing but white, it stung your eyes, there were only two foam canons with people who had no clue how to operate them, the after party area was small and had uneven pavement covered with dark sand bags just waiting for someone to trip on, the race track was a horrible zig zag line that was dark, starting point was so far off that spectators could not watch up close or get pictures of runners. The bad reviews are spot on with my experience. So is your good review. Why because it depends on which event you went to.

Mar
13
2016
Jenny
Hair is pink

I loved this event don't get my wrong I had lots of fun but people with blonde or light brown hair beware that it stains your hair I've tried washing it a millions times even with tide as well it won't come out also the color is every hard to get off your skin using dish soap should help

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Feb
16
2016
Candy
Pensacola, Florida
My hair is PINK!

The event was organized, but the route was patches of grass, gravel and pavement which I found to be unsafe in the dark. The foam part was great, DJ was not for me (but I am older - not a teen/college student), and glowing in the dark was interesting. However, 4 days later I still have pink hair. I am fine with it staining clothes, as I have participated in mud runs, etc. and you must wear old clothes and shoes that I either wash at a laundry place or throw away. That is fine. My blonde hair, however, is still pink after 5 washes with Dawn dishwashing liquid. I am a little confused as to what to do so any suggestions are greatly appreciated. I am a professional and avid runner and enjoy having a great time, but I would rather not have remnants of pink hair. Guess it could be worse though, at least it's not green or yellow!!! Everyone should try it just to say you've done it, but beware as you may leave with your hair a color in which you didn't anticipate!!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Jenny
March 13, 2016

I'm having the same problem because I'm also a blonde and this stuff is hard to get off the body

Oct
25
2015
Hunter
Chula Vista
Never Again

Dear everyone with light brown or blonde hair, do not ever participate in this run. No amount of washing or bleaching can return your hair to its natural hair color. I have spent about a year growing out my light brown hair and after 8 unsuccessful watches, I am forced to cut dye and cut my hair. Furious. Never again.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 7 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Shay
January 31, 2016

Has it returned to it's normal color yet?

Leave a Review
* Indicates Required Field
 
Popular Articles
Related Reviews
BY: Nick 
No reviews yet 
No reviews yet 
No reviews yet