ButcherBox Reviews

ButcherBox
Based on  22 Reviews
About ButcherBox
Butcher Box is a monthly subscription service delivering all natural 100% grass fed beef to its customers.  Founded by Mike Salguero, the company eliminates common barriers preventing people from purchasing high quality meat.
 
They accomplish this goal through low prices, convenient delivery, and carefully curated meat selections.

Why Grass-Fed?

The idea behind Grass feeding animals is that without relying on cheap fillers to fatten them up there are less issues with disease thus eliminating the need for the use of antibiotics.  According to eat wild here are some other reasons why grass fed is better than conventionally raised meat:
  • Higher Ratio of Good to Bad Fats
  • Contain more Antioxidants
  • Higher amounts of Vitamin E, C, and B
  • More Beta-Carotene
  • Higher in minerals Calcium, Magnesium, and Potassium
  • Contains more CLA
  • Lower in Fat and Calories

Products and Ingredients:

Butcher Box provides it’s members a monthly delivery of 100% grass fed beef.  The package contains between 6 to 10 pounds of meat depending on the cuts which is come out to roughly 15-20 meals based on 6-8oz portions.
 
An example box might look something thing like this: top sirloin cuts, short ribs, ground beef, and sirloin tips.  The meat is flash frozen at the peak of freshness and shipped in dry ice.
 
Each monthly shipment costs $129.

Customer Service:

The company can be reached at support@getbutcherbox.com, for answers to basic questions you can also refer to their FAQ page.  Members can pause or cancel their accounts at any time.
 
At this time they ship to anywhere in the contiguous 48 states with free shipping.

Online Reviews/Complaints:

There is not a lot of feedback online as the company is still new and growing.  The few comments that are available are positive.

Competitors and Alternatives:

More and more small farms are making their products available online which is a good thing for those who can’t get high end meat from local sources.  Some other nationwide shippers of grass-fed meat include US Wellness Meats, TX Bar Organics, and Tendergrass Farms.

Where to Buy?

You can sign up directly at their website, currently first time buyers get free bacon and $10 off, www.GetButcherBox.com.
 
If you are a ButcherBox customer please leave your review below.
 
22 ‘ButcherBox’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
Dec
7
2017
Bobbi wolff
Norfolk Va
They don’t care about customer service

I got two deliveries. I live in a condominium complex. The first was great, delivered right to my door. I have to say the meat was good, even though expensive. I was excited about it and recommended it to friends. The second month they changed carriers and it was dropped at an entry to the complex at the opposite side of the building about 8:30 pm. A neighbor told me it was there the next morning. It had started to thaw. I called customer service to insure future shipments would be delivered “right to my door” as advertised. They said they would just send it via the cheapest carrier. They offered no solution. After the call I emailed them. No response. I’ve cancelled and am rescinding my recomendation to friends. Try someone else who cares about your satisfaction.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Nov
22
2017
Zoey
San Rafael, California
best chicken I have tasted in decades,

I get a small box every two months, hamburger flavor is so subtle and wonderful, best chicken I have tasted in years. Customer service, by email, most willing to change composition of order - pork in every order, a lovely pork roast of some kind. Yes, perhaps it does average out to $14 a pound - with grass fed hamburger at Whole Foods running at $10.99 a pound... doesn't seem like much compared with wonderful organic steaks, best chicken, etc. I adore this company.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Nov
22
2017
Jim
New Hampshire
No response from customer service

Received shipment- ground beef packages were ripped open. Called customer service twice. Waited on hold for 15 minutes both times- no one answered. Sent emailed- got generic response ' being reviewed by support staff'. Still haven't heard from anyone

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Karen
November 29, 2017

Same thing just happened to me

Nov
2
2017
Natale Michaud
Los Lunas, NM
Lbs sent vs Cost

I opted to go for the big 2mo mixed box. Cost is $238 every two months. I cancelled after 1st box. I only received 17 Lbs of meat. So, that is $14 a lb. That is highly expensive for a mix box when 6 Lbs of it is chicken. Meat is good, but price is way too high, especially for what you get in box. There are others out there selling same quality meats for less. Not disappointed in meat quality, disappointed in being charge so much, for so little. Who pays $14 lb for free range chicken? Use to raise my own chicken, lamb and pork, wish I was still physically able to do so. When this meat runs out, going to check out a ranch I found online with same quality, a mixed box of mostly beef and under $11lb.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Sam
November 29, 2017

What's the name of the ranch? Was contemplating this for only steaks.

Oct
24
2017
Mark Brown
Waco TX
Great concept, great product

I just received my 2nd box and I am very happy with this company. There response to questions is not the fastest. . . but when you look at how many questions they get on FaceBook alone, they must be swamped. I had an issue with UPS. . . the driver dropped the box over my open gate, in the sun, rather than carrying it to the front door, and my bacon and one package of steaks had started to thaw. Still cold so no damage. I let them know the UPS had messed up, but my meat was still good, because I was watching for it. . . . They gave me an extra bacon, and an extra package of steaks in my 2nd box. . . .

I love the concept that they are making grass-fed and pasture raised meat available to people who may not be able to get it affordably in their local stores. Everything I have gotten has been top quality.

Very happy with ButcherBox.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Sep
14
2017
Dorothy
New York
Good Box

I just got my box there is enough meat for a week the choices of cuts i received was worth it. As a treat the box I received was the beef box glad I got that one, having one of the steaks for dinner tonight!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Kinesha
October 24, 2017

Hi Dorothy!

I'm so happy to hear that you're pleased with your box. Please be sure to tag your photos #ButcherBox. You'll also find a ton of fun recipe ideas from other ButcherBox members there!

Enjoy!

Heather
October 24, 2017

Thanks Dorothy! We appreciate the review and feedback and we're so glad you've enjoyed your ButcherBox.

Aug
24
2017
JEAN
DESERT HILLS,
BUTCHER BOX

I AM VERY DISPLEASE D WITH THE MEAT PACKAGE THEY SENT ME. THE PACKAGE TO THE HAMBURGER WAS RIPPED. THE BAG WAS RIPPED ON THE SIDE AND THE ICE WAS MELTED WHEN IT ARRIVED. IT IS 100 DEGREES HERE.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 4 Comments
Anne Klausky
September 22, 2017

did they replace this torn package?

Mark Brown
October 24, 2017

They are really good about replacing damaged product. They replaced something for me that was thawed, but still cold and safe. You have to contact them, (email is the best way I have found).

Kinesha
October 24, 2017

Hi Jean,

I'm terribly sorry to hear about your thawed package. We've been working hard and making a lot of changes with the way we ship things. I would love to get on the phone with you to hear more about what went wrong, but also to get another package on it's way to you. Please email me: kinesha@butcherbox.com

Talk soon!
Kinesha

Heather
October 24, 2017

Hi Jean - If you contacted customer service and were not provided a replacement or offered a refund or credit for the damaged items, please let me know by sending an email to heather@butcherbox.com.

We offer a 100% guarantee and are happy to address any concerns/issues with any order appropriately.

Aug
8
2017
jan
illinoi8s
never again

No customer service. Meat came and it was warm like it has been sitting out on a truck for days. Can't reach customer service.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Kinesha
October 24, 2017

Hi Jan,

I hope that you have spoken to someone since. If not, please email me: kinesha@butcherbox.com so we can get a box out to you along with some freebies as soon as possible. My sincerest apologies for any inconvenience.

Best,
- Kinesha

Heather
October 24, 2017

Hi Jan - I'm not able to look up your account as you didn't leave your full name in your review here. We did experience a time in Aug/Sept where were overloaded with requests and response time was slow. I can assure you that our service team (which now includes an additional 12 agents) is 100% dedicated to customer service and satisfaction and would be happy to help you with any issues you may have had with your delivery. If you did not receive a resolution to your delivery issue, please email me directly at heather@butcherbox.com and I'm happy to get this taken care of for you.

Aug
4
2017
Bea Warned
Ohio
SCAM

Our credit card was charged for this product however we never ordered this service. A box arrived with the meat (I am guessing it had meat inside because we did not open it). We tried calling this company to notify them that we had not ordered this. No one answered the phone. We brought it back to UPS and now have the paperwork showing it was returned to sender. We also contacted our bank and have filed for credit card fraud and intent to prosecute.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Heather
October 24, 2017

I am so sorry to hear that someone compromised your credit card and placed an order without your consent. We do return all calls to the support line the same day and in the event of fraud the ticket is sent to a specialist to assist. While I'm not able to provide specifics on this instance as you didn't provide your name in the review, I can assure you that ButcherBox did not create the order and if a dispute was filed with the card company as you've reported we sent all the requested information to the bank as requested and would never dispute the validity of a fraud claim. I hope that whomever used your card without your permission was caught and made accountable for their actions.

Aug
2
2017
Pamela Carpenter
Wilton CA
The worst company ever!!!!!!

Don't waste your time! Because if you do have a problem they will NEVER contact you. I received my first shipment last Friday, The box was ripped open, dry ice packet ripped in half and contents inside rotting. I called customer service immediately, it was automated and they required me to leave my email address, which I did. I have since called back twice and sent 3 emails, no response at all. Do not give them your business, they do not appreciate it. If they treat their customers this way, think about how they treat their vendors and animals.

Pamela Carpenter

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Heather
October 24, 2017

Hi Pamela - Can you please let me know what the issue was with your shipment? I do see that I had sent you a personal email on 9/1/16 with your tracking information to the email address you used to place your order (centurylink.net).

The order shipped on 8/31/16 and was delivered on 9/2/16 without a delay or any issues reported.

You had written in on 9/12/17 from a different email address that wasn't associated with the account (th1rt33n@comcast.net) noting you were unable to log into the account and requesting cancellation. No information was provided at that time as to any issues or concerns.

I searched our database for a call request and wasn't able to find anything, we return all voicemail requests with a call back or email.

I understand this is an issue that is over a year old when the review was written, but if there is something I can help you with regarding the order please let me know by emailing me directly at heather@butcherbox.com.

Aug
2
2017
Stuart gerber
Glenwood,martland
Worst customer service Avoid this company

I really love the product but it's absolutely not worth because of the ZERO customer service
My box of meat this month somehow got shipped with a bad label. It ended up at a fed ex plant 50 miles from me with instructions that I needed to pick it up. It had been in transit for over 6 days. There is no way to contact butcher box except by email. Got a response they were busy and would get back to me in 48-72 hours. TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE . Then yesterday evening got delivered by fed ex a repackaged box of meat that is totally thawed. Contacted my credit card company and stopping payment.
Still waiting to hear back from butcher box who have BUTCHERED a good client

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Pamela Carpenter
August 02, 2017

I am trying to send complaints to the people that have endorsed their product, letting them know that they should drop their endorsement. Hoping you do the same.

Heather
October 24, 2017

Hi Stuart -

I'm so sorry you experienced an issue with your delivery and the support representative that addressed your concerns. Since your last contact to support in July we've added an additional 14 agents (12 which are dedicated to answering inbound calls and returning voicemails in the event a message is left after business hours). We did run into a time where we were backed up with response time and were not able to answer all calls due to some unexpected increases in support requests. ButcherBox is committed to providing exceptional products and support and I'm truly sorry you're experience was not stellar. I appreciate you taking the time to post your review, I know with busy schedules it takes a lot to stop and express displeasure with a service and I would love the opportunity to turn this around. Please feel free to send me an email to support@butcherbox.com to discuss your experience and allow me to make this right for you.

Jul
26
2017
Diane C
Watkinsville Ga
Beware if you have any problems

This company is a nightmare to deal with. No phone customer service.Canned email responses that told me there was a 48 hour wait because they were swamped. No refund although they "claim" they sent one. Posted a review on Better Business Bureau and they responded with lies...they delete,any negative comments on their fb page (mine & another customer same day, same complaint) so all you see are glowing reports.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 6 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Heather
October 24, 2017

I'm so sorry you experienced an issue with your delivery and the support received. Since your last contact to support we've added a number of representatives that are focused on answering inbound calls and returning voicemails in the event a message is left after business hours. We did run into a time where we were backed up with response time and were not able to answer all calls due to some unexpected increases in support requests. ButcherBox is committed to providing exceptional products and support and I'm truly sorry you're experience was not stellar. I appreciate you taking the time to post your review and express your concerns. Please feel free to send me an email to support@butcherbox.com to discuss your experience and allow me to make this right for you.

Jul
22
2017
Brad
Spokane, Wa
Very questionable

Received my first box today. The two 1 lb. burger bags were already torn open when I opened up the bag, and everything was soaked. I didn't think dry ice would get everything as wet as it was. The cuts of meat look questionable, to be honest. Really expected more for what basically averaged out to $15 a pound. Opened this up at the office, and general consensus was total ripoff. Already cancelled my subscription, don't even care if customer service answers my email. It sounds like I shouldn't hold my breath on that one

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
Diana
July 26, 2017

I'm living this nightmare...they said they refunded me but if I do not receive the refund in ten days take it up with my bank??? They canceled my account which is fine but still no,money...if you google bad reviews there are many many...all the same

Heather
October 24, 2017

Hi Brad - This site was just brought to my attention, so I apologize for the delay. If you didn't receive a reply from customer service or didn't contact them regarding your delivery, please send me an email to heather@butcherbox.com so I can make this right for you. Your order should have arrived frozen and a replacement issued if this was not the case.

Heather
October 24, 2017

Hi Dianne -

Please send an email to heather@butcherbox.com regarding the refund and I'd be happy to look into this for you.

Jul
20
2017
KVV
San Jose, CA
Shipping nightmare!

We live in CA and although the company says it "can" ship to all 48 states they seem to have issues sending anything to the West Coast. 2 of our 3 orders now have either not shown up or showed up late(sat in a warehouse over the weekend) and all the meat was spoiled.

If you live close to the distribution center maybe you will have better luck but I am not recommending their service to anyone I know on the West Coast.

Additionally, if you have issues with an order getting a hold of any sort of customer service is a nightmare and will take days.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 8 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Diana
July 26, 2017

Go to BBB web sight and write out a complaint. It's free and it gets a quick although dishonest response from them

Heather
October 24, 2017

Hi KVV - Thanks for taking the time to express your concerns. My apologies for the delay as this site was just brought to my attention.

We have begun shipping West Coast orders out of CA and acquired a fulfillment center on the East Coast as well, reducing transit times to 1-2 day ground for most deliveries.

We did run into a time where we were backed up with response time and were not able to answer all calls due to some unexpected increases in support requests. ButcherBox is committed to providing exceptional products and support and I'm truly sorry you're experience was not stellar. I appreciate you taking the time to post your review and express your concerns. Please feel free to send me an email to support@butcherbox.com to discuss your experience and allow me to make this right for you.

Jul
6
2017
Suzanne Patterson
Philadelphia, PA
Great Beef

When we started the service we bought a mixed box of beef and pork. But we have switched to all beef after receiving too many pork packages that were more fat and gristle than meat. We also don't care for the gamey taste of the Duroc pork. But the quality of the beef is very good and it tastes delicious. The service has been excellent with shipping and delivery done when promised and I am happy with the response time when I have emailed questions or requests.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Jul
5
2017
Rebecca Van Patten
Ca.
Did not receive my order

I ordered meat on June 26th and was told I would receive by Friday June 30th. I called back on Weds the 28th and asked about my shipment as I had no confirmation or tracking number. Was told it shipped out on Tues and should receive soon. Friday I called again and no response. I sent an email and got a reply saying they would check into it and again no response. Called Monday and left messages. Called today and left messages again, no response. I have disputed the charge on my credit card.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 7 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
connie lee
July 20, 2017

butcherbox, why didn't you make this right?

Diana
July 26, 2017

Living this nightmare right now...they are dishonest. Wrote a review onBetter
Business Bureau. They will respond with lies but at least it will notch down their score and people can see it is an ongoing scam

Heather
October 24, 2017

Hi KVV - Thanks for taking the time to express your concerns. My apologies for the delay as this site was just brought to my attention.

We did run into a time where we were backed up with response time and were not able to answer all calls due to some unexpected increases in support requests. ButcherBox is committed to providing exceptional products and support and I'm truly sorry you're experience was not stellar. I appreciate you taking the time to post your review and express your concerns. Please feel free to send me an email to support@butcherbox.com to discuss your experience and allow me to make this right for you.

Jun
21
2017
FamOf5
Tampa, FL
Going on 9Months

We have used this service for 9 months now and love it! At first we were monthly subscribers, but now we're every other month. This enables us to still take advantage of the organic meat bogo offers at our local grocery. The quality and service is simply amazing. If you have a passion for food and enjoy cooking delicious meals, you can see and taste the difference in quality. The packaging is great, sometimes we're the last on the delivery route and sometimes we're the first. Once or twice we weren't home til late and it was still frozen solid - keep in mind we're a corner lot and the FL sun is beaming on our front door all day. We take the reusable bags to the grocery store or the kids use it for outings. We had a mishap once with a torn steak package that went bad during shipping and no ice, but Customer Service apologized and asked if we needed a new one sent right away but we just opted to add it to the next shipment. We were impressed that they kept their word and called them back to tell them that everything arrived properly. Another instance, our kids tore one while loading the freezer but we just resealed it in a freezer bag. We actually cooked the ribeyes last night. We love trying the healthy recipes that are included (Paleo/Whole30/21Day)! Probably 9 out of 10 are keepers for us. We'll continue purchasing and supporting our local US farms through BBox!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 10 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Jun
21
2017
Jo
ny
Horrible

I never dealt with a more disonest company in my life.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 10 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Linda Wade
June 22, 2017

Why do you say they are dishonest? I'd really like to know.

Heather
October 24, 2017

Hi Jo - My apologies for the delay in response - this site was just brought to my attention.

ButcherBox is committed to providing exceptional products and support and I'm truly sorry you're experience was not stellar. I appreciate you taking the time to post your review and express your concerns. Please feel free to send me an email to support@butcherbox.com to discuss your experience and allow me to make this right for you.

Nov
26
2016
theresa zapata
westport, ct.
GREAT COMPANY!

Just wanted you guys at Butcher Box to know I have given you a VERY much deserved rave review on Yelp. The meat is fantastic and the customer service couldn't be better. Plans and choices are varied and all delivered frozen and packaged beautifully. You won't be sorry and your body will thank you for healthy choices.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 12 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
JEAN
August 24, 2017

YOU ARE LYING FOR THE COMPANY. I NEVER GET A CALL BACK. THE ICE WAS MELTED WHEN THE MEAT ARRIVED AND THE HAMBURGER PACKAGE WAS RIPPED OPEN AONLY WITH THE BAG THAT WAS RIPPED ON THE SIDE. POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE.

Kathy
October 16, 2017

Jean, you are off base by accusing someone of lying. I just received my first Butcher Box, and it was a fantastic experience. Great quality meat. Perfectly packaged and frozen solid. I'm sorry you had a bad experience. Don't assume that everyone has.

Nov
18
2016
SandyB
Northridge, CA
3 months and happy

I like that it gets me to try new cuts of meat that I'm not familiar with. The flank and Denver steaks were great. Love the stir fry cuts and smashed beef sticks. I'm not a big ground beef user but the dog enjoys the extra.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 8 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Leave a Review
* Indicates Required Field
 
Popular Articles
Related Reviews
BY: Melinda Minjares 
No reviews yet 
No reviews yet 
No reviews yet 
No reviews yet