Beetnik Foods Reviews

Beetnik Foods
Based on  19 Reviews
About Beetnik Foods
Beetnik Foods is a one stop shop that offers customers everything they need to order or prepare healthy high quality meals.  Founded in Texas the company has grown quickly and their products can now be had across the US via brick and mortar stores or online shipping.
 
They have worked hard to spread their message of clean eating and consuming foods with no artificial additives, hormones, or antibiotics.

Products and Ingredients:

Beetnik has foods has an extensive product line that includes:
  • Organic Grass-fed Beef
  • Free-Range Organic Poultry
  • Wild Caught SeaFood
  • Gluten Free Foods
  • Organic Frozen Meals
The pre-made meals they sell are NON-GMO, USDA Organic,Gluten Free, and Paleo Friendly.  Also none of their items contain MSG, High Fructose Corn Syrup, or artificial colors and flavors.

Customer Service and Shipping:

The company can be reached by phone at 512-584-8228 or email at customersupport@beetnikfoods.com.  You can also submit a message through their website at anytime.
 
The company ships FedX Ground to all states within the continental US.  Costs are based on the size of the order with free shipping for orders over $175.

Online Reviews/Complaints:

There are a wide range of customer reviews with some people absolutely loving the frozen meals and products and others finding the taste and consistency disagreeable.  With any nationwide company there is bound to be mixed reviews, both negative and positive, if you are considering their foods a good option may be to try them out locally before committing to a large online order.

Competitors and Alternatives:

There is a growing number of companies delivering high quality grass-fed meat, produce, and pre-made meals such as Door to Door Organics, Organic Prairie, and Grandcestors.

Where to Buy?

Beetnik foods can be found at large health food chains such as Mom’s Organic Market and Whole Foods across the US.  Use their store locator to find a retailer near you, and as always all products can ordered directly from their website.
 
If you have tried Beetnik Foods please leave your review below.
 
19 ‘Beetnik Foods’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
Oct
21
2017
Aubrey
Anchorage, AK
Disappointing and Waste of Money!!

I was super excited to try this Organic Paleo dish (Organic Lemon Chicken with Cauliflower Rice) even though it was $6.49. It only had 150 calories, and 20 grams of protein and the picture on the box looked great. Sadly after cooking this dish it looked like a watery brown mess and something that I had thrown up. Even worse was it had no flavor other than a peppery taste. I ate it out of spite and the fact that I had just paid $6.49 for a frozen meal. So disappointing and a waste of money!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Oct
18
2017
carrie
tucson
uck!!

Organic Honey Chicken with Zucchini Noodles: Was excited to try this. What a disappointment!! Super runny, WAY to spicy!! Honey chicken, really it does not say anything about being spicy!! Tons of green chilies and hardly any noodles.. Don't waste your money!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Sep
23
2017
Shepard's Pie & Chili
Good Idea, Bad Ingredients

All the gristle in both items is disgusting. When you bite into the gristle, it makes you want to throw up then and there. It ruins the entire entree. It ruins your entire evening. Yuk!! My last experience was 4 out of 5 bites had the gristle. Enough, never again.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Sep
19
2017
Susan Knowlton
Gilbertsville, Pa
sheppard's Pie

This by far, the very worst meal I have ever purchased. I have celiac disease and am on the Paleo diet so I had great hopes that a fast meal was available.
Oh,my goodness, it was absolutely terrible! Not only was the portion small but there were at least 7 pieces of gristle that I could not chew or swallow!
I posted my experience on Facebook and I advise anyone reading this to avoid this product. It is terrible!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Shepard's Pie & Chili
September 23, 2017

I have been purchasing both of the above for several months. My last 4 purchases (2 chili and 2 shepard pie) were just as the other person said, 4 out of 5 bites has gristle. I was 100% for them at first, now I will never buy them again. The quality has changed drastically. I almost hurl when I bite into the gristle. No more for me. To the Company...bring back the quality. You can't make money if no one wants to throw away their money on bad food.

CHristy
October 06, 2017

SHepherds pie Beetnik frozen meal HORRIBLE FULL OF TENDONS AND LIGAMENTS EVERY Bite! Gag gag gag

Sep
18
2017
Michael Lane
Beaufort, SC
Tastes like dirt

I purchased the shepherds pie. I hoped it would be an easy way to eat Paleo. But it tasted like straight up dirt. I'm not going to lie I ate all of it that's why I put two stars instead of one because I couldn't justify putting one star or something that I didn't spit out immediately and throw away. It tasted like root vegetables that hadn't been washed very well. I think they added a bunch of pepper to try to cover up the dirt taste? I'm super serious it really tasted a lot like dirt, like, more like dirt that anything ever tasted before, that falls in the food category, in my life aside from dirt. It was ridiculous. I got my wife a taste little bit on her finger she agreed it also tasted like dirt. No but seriously Guys it really does like dirt....like a lot. The end.

P.S. I will try the lemon chicken with cauliflower rice tomorrow. Glutton for punishment I guess....

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Tastes like dirt...
September 23, 2017

It does taste like dirt. That was my exact first impression of the shepard pie.

Leave out the gristle
September 23, 2017

These should be 1 of the 3 foods you throw out. Dogs eat gristle because they swallow their food whole. They don't chew.

Aug
15
2017
Maria s
Midlothianva
Too too spicey

We tried the shepherds pie and the beef chili. Shepherds pie was okay. But the chili was so spicy we had to throw it out. My husband loves spice. But he had one taste and pushed it away. We wasted $5 never again

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Jul
18
2017
Claudia b
Baltimore md
The worst frozen food ever, disgrace to paleo diet

I don't usually review anything but I love to cook and I love to eat. I've been following a paleo diet for years but went off of it for about a year. I'm trying to get back into it but with time being an issue I thought I'd look into some quick options. The packaging on these beetnick paleo meals look good. I was so excited to try something quick. I got the lemon chicken with cauliflower rice, chili with sweet potato, shepherds pie and the chicken and vegetable stir fry. I tried the last two. First, the chicken was so tough I could barely cut it with a sharp knife, also it was tiny, didn't look good, after I cooked it it was watery and slimy. I took a bite, bland, watery and tough, even the vegetables. I opened up with shepherds pie and it smelled good, it appeared to have a better texture. I tasted it. It was also slimy, watery and omg the meat was like dog food. I immediately threw both of them out after just one bite. I will try both the other two I have left but I'm not hopeful. So save your money and just prep your own fresh food and freeze it yourselves. I am out 20 dollars (should have been a clue) for food with proteins that seem like scraps. Also, I'm sad to say this company is out of Austin and that is disappointing as it's the best city ever. Please improve your product and actually care about a demographic who values nutrition and taste.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Jul
15
2017
Lynn Cornwell
Virginia
Terrible

This was one of the worst frozen meals I have ever tasted. The taste was very similar to the smell of dog food.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Apr
11
2017
Ofalyn Harris
Dallas, TC
I couldn't even take a bite.

I went to Wal-Mart and saw this beautiful frozen tv dinner: Lemon Chicken and Cauliflower Rice. It looked creamy and delicious and I couldn't wait to try it. I microwave it as instructed. I look at it. It was so watery it looked like soup and riced cauliflower? More like chopped and still whole pieces of cauliflower. I couldn't even bring myself to take a bite.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
at least try it
June 13, 2017

You didn't even eat it and gave it 1 star?

Yvonne Stroman
June 22, 2017

I totally agree with you! Be lucky you did not try it! I purchased the same product based on how it looked on the carton. I too followed the instructions and it was watery :(. I paid $5.00 and did not want my money to go to waste and it was awful. All I could taste was the lemon and pepper. It is really sad that Beetnik would allow this product to hit the shelves. I would not recommend this at all and would give NO stars. Thoroughly disappointed.

Wdavis
October 03, 2017

Agreed! Yuck!

Mar
6
2017
Valerie
Springfield, MO
Beetnik Shepard's Pie

Overall the dish was not bad, I liked the flavor and I did not find it spicy at all. The beef in it was very disappointing, every other bite was nothing but gristle, I maybe had 5 bites of the meat that I didn't have to spit out. I would like to try one of their other meals but If the meat is just as terrible I won't be purchasing anymore of their products.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 4 Comments
Marylou Houck
April 05, 2017

I also tried the Shepard's Pie and found it to be inedible. Took two spoonfuls and it burnhed my mouth. I spit it out and am returning the second item back to Walmart for a refund. What also bothers me is that this product was a complete waste of organic food. I've had Shepard's Pie in several restaurants, have made the dish myself from different recipes and none of them even came close to being as disgusting as this product.

Steve
August 18, 2017

Just finished a Shepard's Pie. The meat was almost all gristle. Definitely not worth the money--at any price.

Shepard Pie meat, Excuse me, gristle.
September 23, 2017

Exactly! Mostly gristle.

Christy
October 06, 2017

Tendons and ligaments. Blaaaaahhh!

Feb
22
2017
Luan
Lincoln NE
I am surprised this company is still in business

They offered us free fill to sell in our store, but turned around and charged us 50%. Fortunately, I was able to get credit from the distributor since these foods were not good enough to even put out in the store. They do not seem to be made of food.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Feb
13
2017
Barbara
Winchester VA
Beetnik Paleo Organic Lemon Chicken with Califlower RIce

Looked nothing like the picture on the packaging. Not much flavor at all. Did not see a mushroom; way too much black pepper. Will not purchase again.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Sheila
September 29, 2017

The very appearance of this meal is disgusting. It looks like slop.Like others, I had high hopes for this product, and foolishly purchased 5 meals. The chili was too hot to eat and I threw it out. The lemon chicken was disgusting to look at and did not taste anything like lemon chicken. Have yet to try the shepherd's pie, but don't have much hope. $25.00 would have bought a lot of real meat and vegetables to make something in my own kitchen that would be darn good. This company won't last long at this rate.

Feb
2
2017
Kathy
Augusta, ME
Way too hot!!!!!

I've tried both the Shepherd's Pie and the Beef Chili and Sweet Potato. I didn't mind the texture and thought both had pretty good flavor; however, there was waaaaaay too much red pepper flakes (or something else with heat) for my taste. I couldn't enjoy it at all, because my mouth was on fire. I know some people really like super-spicy hot foods, but I think if they cut back it would appeal to a bigger audience. I've never heard of spicy hot shepherd's pie.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Marylou Houck
April 05, 2017

You are right! Shepherd's Pie is NOT a spicy dish and this company doesn't seem to have a clue about make good food.

Jan
31
2017
stephanie
portland oregon
less than 1 star

just tried grass fed meatballs
ABSOLUTELY DISGUSTING
tough meat, hard as a rock and did find a small piece that could have been a rock or a bone
what a waste!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Claudia b
July 18, 2017

I also found a rock or a bone in the shepherd pie and left it out if my review. So disgraceful.

Shepard Pie
September 23, 2017

I also found a bone or ? Plus all the gristle.

Jan
29
2017
Joan Scott
grants, nm
Beetnik organic chicken and vegetable stir fry is terrible!!!!!

I bought this in the store my son manages in Albuquerque because I wanted to try an organic frozen meal: Beetnik paleo organic chicken and vegetable stir fry. It had an attractive picture of large chunks of chicken and veggies on "rice shaped" cauliflower. After I nuked enough to get to stirring, I noted there were only a few small pieces of veggie and chicken. When I tasted it, it was VERY hot mingled with that obnoxious cauliflower. I fished out the couple small pieces of chicken that had somehow not absorbed much hot seasoning, threw the rest out, and ate something else. I will certainly NOT be eager to try THIS brand again.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Dec
11
2016
Kathy
Birmingham, AL
YIKES . . . so spicy hot!!!

I recently bought 2 organic frozen Beetnik meals. I was not, at all, impressed with the first frozen meal I tried—Lemon Chicken with Cauliflower Rice. It was extremely spicy and lacked flavor. I figured the other meal I'd bought—shepherd's pie (grass fed beef with carrots, kale, whipped potatoes and spices) sounded safe. Whoa!! I'm having to eat several almond flour crackers after each bite to keep my mouth from burning. I was so hopeful to have found a convenient organic, Paleo meal I could eat, but I won't be buying these again. They were both so spicy, I could hardly taste anything other than the pepper! Seriously, it's possible to have healthy, tasty, Paleo food that tastes good, but this definitely does not!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
TAC
January 01, 2017

Try Tastefully Plated Paleo meals. Currently carried in the frozen section at Walmart. I just discovered them and have only had the braised pork meal, not spicy but flavorful. Worth a try for convenient paleo frozen dinner.

Jennie
May 02, 2017

Be careful with those- I noticed they had preservatives in them. Beetnik doesn't but omg I can't eat them. Too spicey!

Oct
18
2016
Karyn Zander
I have to agree

Mushy, so mushy.... tried the lemon chicken with cauliflower rice. The taste was ok, texture was awful. Felt like I was eating baby food.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Oct
13
2016
Sunny
Portland Oregon
OMG - So Spicy and Mushy

Tried the Paleo Organic Beef Chili and Sweet Potato. It's so spicy I couldn't tolerate eating it though I desperately tried because I'm at work and it's all I have for lunch. This is horrible. I mean seriously, my mouth has been burning for 10 minutes and I now have heart burn.

Earlier this week I tried The Chicken and Cauliflower Rice and also found it to be spicy beyond what I cared for. I carefully looked at the packaging to see if I missed it but there is no warning.

Both entrees were extremely watery, almost like strained soup. They look nothing like the picture on the packaging either. Nope, this was a huge mistake to bring to work and get stuck with nothing else.

No more Beetnik products!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Feb
3
2016
alice a mccarty
La Crosse wi
tasteless and mushy

I wanted to start eating better foods, (organic etc) so thought I'd try a dish I love beef stroganoff. This had absolutely no mushrrom, sour cream, or any other taste to it . It was a dish of mush. All claims of authenticity, i.e. certified, gluten free, organic grass fed beef etc. are worthless if the food is tasteless. I'm puzzled?

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Leave a Review
* Indicates Required Field
 
Popular Articles
Related Reviews
No reviews yet 
No reviews yet 
No reviews yet 
No reviews yet 
BY: Lori D.