Barbell Apparel Reviews

Barbell Apparel
Based on  30 Reviews
TAGS:Clothing  
About Barbell Apparel
Barbell Apparel was born out of a highly successful Kickstarter campaign, raising over 735,000 dollars from over 5,000 backers.  The company's goal is to grow into a premium fashion brand catering to athletic body types.
 
They have gained lots of media attention for their breakthrough products and the success of their fundraising efforts.

Products:

Thier flagship product is the denim jean for both men and women.  The jeans are specifically designed to fit over larger muscular legs making room for bigger quads and rear ends while staying tight in the waist.
 
The athletic fit accommodates more than just larger bodies and the stretchy denim can be enjoyed by athletes of all sizes.
 
The jeans feature:
 
Superior Hybrid Denim - for limitless flexibility and comfort.
 
Quality Craftsmanship - hand designed leather label, embossed branded rivets and buttons, stitched tags and labels, custom branded pocket fabric, extra-strength double stitching and premium hanger loops.
 
As Barbell Apparell grows they plan to expand their clothing line to include functional dress shirts, slacks, blazers, socks, shorts, and chinos.

Sizes and Styles:

Currently the company is rolling out a limited offering for both sexes, this includes:
 
Men's Jeans - Straight Athletic fit in medium or dark indigo wash.  Waist sizes of 28, 30, 32, 34, 36, 38, & 40 with 34" or 36" inseam length.
 
Women's Jeans - Slim Athletic fit in blue fade or black wash.  Waist sizes of 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, & 33 with 32” or 36" inseam length.
 
Bootcut jeans are available for pre-order for both sexes.  Barbell jeans are designed to fit your true waist size so keep that in mind when ordering.

Customer Service:

Currently they have a 100% satisfaction guarantee that states any products may be returned within 6 months of purchase for a refund or product exchange.  You can submit questions via their website or use the live chat option to message a representative.

Online Reviews/Complaints:

Aside from the favorable pre-order media buzz there are not many online customer reviews as product shipping is scheduled for late October/November.  As customers begin receiving their orders there will be a clearer picture of how well liked the jeans are.

Alternatives and Competitors:

While there are many companies making Crossfit/Functional training specific workout clothing, such as Hylete, Splits59, Life AsRx, not many brands are offering athlete tailored apparel for life outside the gym.

Where to Buy:

Currently you can order Barbell Apparel jeans directly from their website.  If you have had a chance to try out their clothing please leave your reviews below.
30 ‘Barbell Apparel’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
Jun
13
2017
Tammy W.
Mission Viejo, CA
Finally found a pair that fit my weightlifter son

I have been on a mission the last couple of years to find pants that actually fit my son who weightlifts. I can't even count the number of "athletic fit" jeans that we have bought and returned. I was a little hesitant to spend the money, but they are definitely worth it. He said they are super comfortable and fit his large quads and calves really well. This is only the first of many orders I am sure we will make. Thank you for making something for a segment of the population that didn't have many other options.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Jun
9
2017
Charlotte
CANADA
Ordered in february, have yet to receive my pants

I ordered two pairs of pants back in Feb 2017, it is now June 2017, and I have yet to even receive the pants. There was no indication that the pans I ordered were on 'back order' when I bought them, which is what I was told when I emailed customer service. I have to keep emailing customer service, as no one gets in touch with me about shipping delays. They keep telling me it will be two weeks until shipping, and that was about 6 weeks ago. I also haven't been offered any discount or extra product for the wait. I would definitely not recommend this company.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Apr
28
2017
Joshua B
Atlanta
Happy but a smell

Really love the jeans but has anyone notice a weird smell with the denim? The chinos are fine but the jeans have a very distinct smell and has happened with all of them and it lingers even after a wash. Due to the fabric I want to limit the amoun of times they are washed but the smell is still there. Again this has happened on several orders.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
SMELLS
September 01, 2017

Yes that's why I'm here. Mine smell terrible. I was sitting at dinner and I thought that a rat had died somewhere near our table until I got home and realized it was just me, specifically the jeans. Were these pants made in a sweatshop that doubles as a morgue?

Apr
14
2017
Maggie
Lisbon Falls, ME
No communication about delays.

I was super excited to find out about Barbell Apparel. I ordered two pairs of jeans in early February that were both "pre-order" on the website. According to the website, the jeans would ship in 3-4 weeks. I waited four weeks and didn't get a shipping notification so I decided to email the company to see what was up. I was then told it would be an additional three weeks before shipping. After waiting another three weeks and still no shipping notification I emailed again and was told it would be an additional 8 days before shipping. Two weeks later and still no tracking info. Emailed again and was told it would be another week before shipping.

I understand this is a growing company, but I shouldn't have to bug customer service every few weeks to see where my order is. If there are delays they should be relayed to the customer. I ordered these pants in the winter and by the time I get them it is going to be summer and time to wear shorts. I am very underwhelmed by the customer service. They do not seem to care that the wait time has been over double what was stated on their website. I wanted to order more of the pant styles and some shorts, but so far it's been a pretty disappointing experience. So far, would not recommend.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Apr
12
2017
rungirlsf
san francisco
questionable business practice

backed them on kickstarter for the tartek pant. they were to have shipped in January. it's now mid april, and an email states they won't ship until May. HOWEVER, they offer the tartek on their website. so basically, they received all the pledges and do not fulfill them first.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Mar
29
2017
Chris
New york
Not worth the money

I have 2 pairs of these jeans (straight and boot). 2 weeks ago i wore a hole in the crotch on one pair. Tried to sew it but it didnt hold. Today the 2nd pair tore in the same spot. I went to reorder and they're out of stock of my size. I decided to check the date originally purchased. Jan '16.. These barely lasted a year.

I left this review on their site but still havent seen it posted yet. I intended on leaving the following addendum:

I went trying on American Eagle stretch jeans today. The stretch/mobility comfort is equal at 1/3rd the price and you get more options on washes/colors.

To be fair the good ill say about barbell is they actually have a low waist (where every 'low waist' jean i try comes mid waist or has a low hanging crotch that looks disheveled) and the fabric is pretty breathable and cool as opposed to stiff and cumbersome.

Despite that i would not value that as 3xs the price for 1/5th the durability. Granted i understand - thicker fabric which would last longer would be less comfortable and hotter so maybe theres a tradeoff there, but ultimately i dont think i can justify 150 a year per pair.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Chris
May 08, 2017

Just adding that i still havent seen this original review on their site. They also apparently screen their reviews so that only the good ones show. I wouldnt trust their claims or reviews.

Mar
22
2017
Jake Trapp
Great customer service poor execution.

I got a pair for Christmas 16 and shortly after the button came out. I contacted them and they said that it must have been a bad batch. The button came out because of the elasticity of the band just let it fall out. The over all comfort was nice and definately can squat and do dad things in them with ease. Back to the experience. They gladly sent me a new pair to make it up to me but not even a week later the same thing happened! I contacted them again and said I wasn't trying to get another free one because they are a business and I don't want them to fail. I told them it happened again and no response from them. I just want this to be a quality product and wanted to help them out because I doubt anyone else would be that nice about money down the tube.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Mar
14
2017
Amanda Phillips
Columbus, Oh
Bought these at The Arnold!

After being so hesitant to buy these jeans online I was FINALLY able to try them on at the Arnold Expo in Ohio and OHHH MY GOSHHHH!!!!! I bought 3 of the women's washes and a pair of shorts for my husband. I seriously will never buy jeans from another company again.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Mar
2
2017
Joe
Carlsbad
poor customer service

Their website states "three-day shipping" but when I hadn't received my order after a week I emailed customer service. I was told that their website states my order was a "pre-order" and it will take up to five weeks to ship. First of all, the website does not say anything about a pre-order and secondly, I would never have ordered something online that requires five weeks to ship. When you are paying $280 for two pairs of jeans, you would expect better communication. Poor customer service.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Karl
March 07, 2017

Hey Joe,

I am a representative of Barbell Apparel and would love to look further into this situation for you. Normally our website marks items as "pre-order" when they are out of stock and provide a estimated time when our next shipment will be coming in. It changes the add to cart button to pre-order; but it is possible that this may not have updated for you which would have caused the confusion.

Please email me at karl@barbellapparel.com so I can help make this situation right for you. Again, we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused and i'm looking forward to making it right for you.

Feb
28
2017
Chad
San Francisco, CA
Amazing Jeans

These jeans freaking rock

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Jan
25
2017
Cameron
UK
Poorly made jeggings

I ordered a pair of athletic fit jeans in 36x34, only for them to arrive in the wrong size. Customer services said that their manufacturers had made an error, hence the terrible fit and incorrect length.

They refunded the jeans but not the shipping (roughly $30), nor the additional charge from fedex who said that they hadnt been paid properly by Barbell Apparel. All in all, I am down nearly $60 with nothing to show.

As an aside, the jeans are actually jeggings and are extremely effeminate. I would suggest that self-respecting guys avoid.

Get wranglers athletic for a better jean at a better price.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Cameron
February 03, 2017

Since writing this review I have spoken with the team at Barbell apparel and they have clarified that a mistake was made by the manufacturer, at no fault of the company. They have refunded me in full and corrected the issue.

Very impressed by the customer service

Jan
4
2017
Jim Stafford
Denver, Colorado
Top Notch Customer Service

I ordered the wrong size first and thought all was lost but I reached out to their customer service and they not only helped me with sizing but got my exchange taken care of in under a week and now they're my favorite. I'll definitely be purchasing more!!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Jan
3
2017
Chuck Steinberg
Ontario, Canada
The god's have answered!!!!

I received these jeans are a Christmas gift and let me just tell you I will never buy jeans from anywhere else ever again. I was told the day they were purchased and they arrived to me in Canada from the US in 3 days. I've purchased 2 more pairs since with the same shipping time and fit. Huge kudos to these guys' for what they're doing!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Dec
21
2016
Donald
Canada
Horrible Customer Service

Horrible Customer Service

They charged me for a pair of jeans over a month ago, sent confirmation they were being shipped two weeks ago, called and got confirmation they would be here before a certain date and they were never sent out and all my messages ignored after that. Complained on social media and a co owner messaged me and said they will be sent out that day and of course nothing sent out. Messaged back this week and still nothing and he notifies me they are sold out and sorry please wait for the next shipment. I did get one order earlier or a different style that I also have to now return as the switching is all coming lose.. please remember these jeans cost them less then $25 to order.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 6 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Dec
15
2016
Devora Lans
New York
No T shirt!

Ordered the pants for my son and wow...great fit.. But they did not include the t shirt and harshness promised. Got a hold of Josh through email (there is no phone # to call) and was promised he would include an extra shirt in my second order. Just got my second order....NO SHIRT!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 6 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Oct
19
2016
John
Burbank, CA
Awesome fit.

The fit of these pants was just perfect, and the mobility is crazy.

It's the first pair of jeans I've been able to relax in without wanting to change out of them.

Definitely recommend.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Oct
12
2016
Edward
Tucson, AZ
Chinos changed me

I own all three pairs of the chinos and I honestly can't say I've ever worn a more comfortable pair of pants. I've had them for almost a year now and I won't ever buy from another company. I recommend these to EVERYONE at my box.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Oct
12
2016
John Woodley
San Fernando Valley
Wow. Finally jeans that fit!

I purchased these jeans about 3 months back and I couldn't be happier with them. I have struggled finding jeans my whole life so it is soooo nice to finally have some that fit my GINORMOUS quads.

Definitely worth the money to just purchase these so you don't have to keep buying crap jeans that you rip through every few months.

I personally love the light wash. I picked up a Havoc Tee as well and it is literally the nicest shirt I have ever purchased. It feels like super soft cotton but is some kind of performance blend that kicks ass!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Oct
4
2016
Ryan
Seatte
Cheap fabric - DO NOT BUY

I ordered 3 pairs of the men's chino pants. After first use there are signs of wearing in the thigh area. This is unacceptable for a company that prides themselves on providing athletic apparel for people who workout. Regular jeans last me at least a year before any sign of wear, but these literally look like they will have holes in them within the next month because of the poor quality of fabric used. I also purchased two of their $54 t-shirts. Wow, what a rip off. First, I was thinking they would fit nicely since I workout regularly - no, they fit as well as an Old Navy tee. Second, the quality of the shirts is also terrible. They put a tacky little barbell patch on the sleeves that is seen on using the cheapest material they could find and I now have strings hanging off my shirt where the patch is unthreading. It looks like I've been wearing the shirt for 10 years. I've found shirts on Amazon for $7 that fit much better.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 7 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Rock
November 18, 2016

Rip off NO WAY !!!! Waste of $

May
24
2016
Chris F.
Richmond, Virginia
Not worth the Money

I was so damn excited about these jeans. I haven't been able to wear a pear in many years after getting into weight lifting, and my girlfriend bought me these as a gift. When they *finally* came in the mail, I ripped it all open and tried them on.
I had two distinct thoughts as I tried them on 1) " I can't believe a pair of jeggings cost $150 dollars" and 2) the waist is *STILL* too big compared to the thigh size.
For the first 1/2 I could wear these and be moderately comfortable, after that they stretched out and constantly had to be pulled up when walking. I don't mind wearing a belt with them, but the fit is still way off.
At this point in time, there are other brands marketing to the same demographic that have better products and cheaper prices. The fact that there have been a large amount of complaints, and I get constant barrages of barbell apparel emails expanding their product line before getting their core product down pat, combined with a high price tag means I'm definitely not ordering anything else.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
Yes
No
out of 8 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
sat
November 18, 2016

pair not pear

large number vs amount of complaints

John Paul Gotti
November 18, 2016

Thank you I won't buy them now. $ to high in price and I always have to take in my pants anyways to pay $150 on cheap demin NO WAY !!! & I will have to spend another $2030 to take the men not worth it at that price you want to pay that's going to last what a rip off I will have to spend another $2030 to take the men not worth it at that price you want to pay that's going to last what a rip off

Leave a Review
* Indicates Required Field
 
Popular Articles
Related Reviews
No reviews yet 
No reviews yet 
BY: Nick 
No reviews yet 
BY: Bobby